Author Topic: Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"  (Read 402 times)

jailbird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"
« on: April 06, 2021, 02:06:50 am »
I've noticed this for a while now but I only recently figured out the situation.

On any version of VBox from the last couple of years, when you install ArcaOS (any version, I'm using 5.0.6 now), the default resolution is pretty low and everything is good. After installing the VBox Guest Additions and GRADD (in newer releases, ArcaOS will do this for you during install if you tell it to), everything is still pretty good up to about 1024x768. There's probably very slight lag, but nothing really noticeable unless you're specifically looking for it.

At 1280x1024, there's definitely noticeable UI lag just moving the cursor around. Eg, you can definitely see the mouse pointer "stutter" moving it to the XCenter menu button and clicking on something and selecting it.

At 1600x1000, the UI lag is so bad it's very aggregating trying to navigate around.

So it seems like the larger, the slower it is. This is basic 2D stuff, not 3D. Increasing the VRAM assigned to the VM doesn't help.

Is this a generic OS/2-related issue (eg, the way GRADD works), or is it a VBox guest additions issue?

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 75
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2021, 02:46:25 am »
I am running Virtualbox at 1920x1080 with 16 M colors.
No stuttering at all.
Make sure you have no Panorama leftovers.
Only the pure gengradd.
I am running eCS 2.2 beta. Don't know if that makes a difference.

One tip, in config.sys try:
SET C1=GENGRADD,SBFILTER

"SBFILTER" will enable shadow buffering which might speed up things (just like with Panorama).
« Last Edit: April 06, 2021, 02:54:21 am by Lars »

jailbird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2021, 03:45:58 am »
Strange.   This is a fresh install  too.  I guess I'll try a reinstall (again).

And it looks like the ArcaOS installer already does 'SET C1=GENGRADD,SBFILTER' :(

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 565
  • -Receive: 116
  • Posts: 3116
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2021, 03:56:51 am »
Hi jailbird.

I'm also running Virtualbox at 1920x1080 with 16 M colors. VirtualBox 6.1.18 W10 host. ArcaOS 5.0.6 on the guest. I do not experience any mouse lag that make it hard to use on that resolution. I can not try any higher resolutions with the hardware that I have.

I'm using this gengradd.dll
Quote
8-15-20 11:14a        66,100      0 a---  gengradd.dll

I also have 'SET C1=GENGRADD,SBFILTER' on the config.sys.

I had also set 128MB of video memory on the guest VM, but I'm not sure if that makes any difference.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 53
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2021, 04:37:49 am »
How do you get 1980 x 1080 resolution with GenGradd? On my Virtual Box, I only see non-widescreen resolutions offered.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 75
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2021, 05:31:20 pm »
I seem to vaguely remember that you need to customize VirtualBox to know about that resolution. Search the VirtualBox documentation for the "vboxmanage.exe" utility. You can also call it from a commandline and it will give you a trillion options.

Found it, look here:
https://ourcodeworld.com/articles/read/1298/how-to-run-a-virtual-machine-in-virtualbox-with-a-custom-resolution-3840x2160

and/or here:
https://winaero.com/set-exact-display-resolution-in-virtualbox-virtual-machine/
« Last Edit: April 07, 2021, 05:42:39 pm by Lars »

jailbird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2021, 03:18:34 am »
So I did a fresh install and still see it.  If I run the VM in fullscreen mode, it acts better but is still slightly laggy.

If I build the VM under Parallels instead using Panorama, it works fine.  So it must be some weird macOS + VBox + OS/2 GA issue.

Sorry for the noise!

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 206
  • Posts: 2959
  • Karma: +34/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow graphics in ArcaOS on VBox when resolution is "large"
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2021, 08:43:59 am »
There's always the option of running at 64K colours. Even on real hardware, Arca Noae recommends 64K colours for maximum performance. Less memory per pixel and doesn't look much different. Of course depends on your usage.