Author Topic: VIDEO_MODE_RESTRICTION  (Read 453 times)

jailbird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
VIDEO_MODE_RESTRICTION
« on: November 06, 2021, 01:08:49 am »
So going through the properties on the DOS Session icon, I noticed the setting VIDEO_MODE_RESTRICTION with a comment that says 'Set to CGA to increase available memory to 736K.'.

However, it doesn't matter if I set it to "CGA" or "MONO", the available memory information in MEM doesn't change at all on ArcaOS 5.0.6.  This is under VirtualBox, so maybe VBox isn't following the original PS2 memory layout exactly which is causing it?

I tried http://www.edm2.com/index.php/Stupid_OS/2_Tricks/REXX_Commands#BIGDOS.CMD and that didn't make it change either. Is it working for anybody else?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 229
  • Posts: 3217
  • Karma: +62/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VIDEO_MODE_RESTRICTION
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2021, 01:15:58 am »
It has been a long time but it used to work to give DOS sessions more memory. Now I can't even remember how to measure memory in a DOS session.

Roderick Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 445
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VIDEO_MODE_RESTRICTION
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2021, 04:01:37 pm »
It has been a long time but it used to work to give DOS sessions more memory. Now I can't even remember how to measure memory in a DOS session.

mem.exe ? :-)

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 80
  • Posts: 865
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VIDEO_MODE_RESTRICTION
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2021, 09:14:32 am »
I am just guessing but maybe you also have to set UMB to TRUE in config.sys.