Author Topic: HOBLink and ArcaOS  (Read 336 times)

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
HOBLink and ArcaOS
« on: September 18, 2022, 01:05:38 pm »
Hi,

How does one install / start on ArcaOS the HOBLink X11 version that was included with eCS ?

During the install, I get a "fatal error : cannot load C:\HOBX11\xwpdllid.dll" pops up (the file is present in the folder). That makes the installer stop, but after I copied the files from an eCS installation (and added the registration info to the registry), the message is the same when trying to start the X server.

Additional strange thing (but not a showstopper): the installer defaults to D:\HOBX11, even though I have no drive D on my ArcaOS VM...

Thanks for any tip!

A.

David McKenna

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HOBLink and ArcaOS
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2022, 06:11:30 pm »
 Hi Glenn,

 I vaguely remember trying this when ArcaOS first came out and found that HOBLink somehow checks that it is on an eCS installation and doesn't work otherwise. Maybe you can figure out how to fake an eCS install for it...

Regards,

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 812
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HOBLink and ArcaOS
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2022, 06:48:41 pm »
There are several options to detect an eCS installation:
  • \os2\install\syslevel.ecs
  • \ecs\ecs_inst.flg
  • \ecs\dll\securit2.dll
  • \os2\ecsreg.ini
  • \os2\ecsreg11.ini

(I don't want to use the old X-Window desktop anymore.)

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1551
  • Karma: +4/-2
    • View Profile
Re: HOBLink and ArcaOS
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2022, 07:29:00 pm »
There are several options to detect an eCS installation:
  • \os2\install\syslevel.ecs
  • \ecs\ecs_inst.flg
  • \ecs\dll\securit2.dll
  • \os2\ecsreg.ini
  • \os2\ecsreg11.ini

(I don't want to use the old X-Window desktop anymore.)

There are some programs, that look for a file named "WiseMachine.FIT" (can be empty), in the root of the boot drive.

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 812
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HOBLink and ArcaOS
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2022, 08:32:36 pm »
That was for the first eCS version only and is not safe, because the file is copied on booting the eCS CD. It can be be used for versions before syslevel.ecs existed.

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HOBLink and ArcaOS
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2022, 11:46:22 pm »
There are several options to detect an eCS installation:
  • \os2\install\syslevel.ecs
  • \ecs\ecs_inst.flg
  • \ecs\dll\securit2.dll
  • \os2\ecsreg.ini
  • \os2\ecsreg11.ini
[...] "WiseMachine.FIT"

Out of the eCS 1.2 install, I did copy syslevel.ecs, securit2.dll, ecsreg11.ini to the same directories on my boot drive (ecsreg.ini was already there, I may have had some use for it..). WiseMachine file was absent (I created an empty file with that name) but ecs_inst.flg was nowhere to be found.

Even with these files, HOBLink still threw me the same error..

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3694
  • Karma: +78/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HOBLink and ArcaOS
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2022, 04:22:26 am »
It's interesting, I got a copy when they quit supporting OS/2 as they were giving out free licenses. Runs fine on my Warp V4 install but on Arca Noae I get a popup saying "License Agreement Error", "Your version of program isn't legal copy", "Please reinstall HOBlink X11/PM"
I do see the registration serial number in my install.