Author Topic: Upplay QT5  (Read 5858 times)

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Upplay QT5
« on: December 19, 2022, 07:09:37 pm »
Hi,

May it be possible to get a binary for Upplay QT5 available on OS/2 ?
https://www.lesbonscomptes.com/upplay/pages/downloads.html#windows

Regards
Rémy

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4815
  • Karma: +42/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Upplay QT5
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2022, 09:29:35 pm »
Hi Remy

I'm just reading about it to get more context.

"upplay is a desktop UPnP audio Control Point for Linux/Unix, MS Windows, and Mac OS. It began its existence as a companion to the Upmpdcli renderer, but it has become an ugly but nice, lightweight but capable, control point in its own right.

upplay does not play music, it controls a Media Renderer which may be running on the same host or anywhere else.

upplay was started with code from the Sayonara local player, which saved me a lot of time. There is not much in common between them any more, except for quite many lines of user interface code.

upplay is open-source, mostly free (I ask for a small contribution for the Windows installer), and licensed under the GPL. It is written in C++ and uses the libupnpp library."

Source: https://www.lesbonscomptes.com/upplay/

Remy, I read but I don't understand  ;D ;D ;D. What does it do in some easy to get words ? 

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Upplay QT5
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2022, 12:47:21 pm »
Hi Remy

I'm just reading about it to get more context.

"upplay is a desktop UPnP audio Control Point for Linux/Unix, MS Windows, and Mac OS. It began its existence as a companion to the Upmpdcli renderer, but it has become an ugly but nice, lightweight but capable, control point in its own right.

upplay does not play music, it controls a Media Renderer which may be running on the same host or anywhere else.

upplay was started with code from the Sayonara local player, which saved me a lot of time. There is not much in common between them any more, except for quite many lines of user interface code.

upplay is open-source, mostly free (I ask for a small contribution for the Windows installer), and licensed under the GPL. It is written in C++ and uses the libupnpp library."

Source: https://www.lesbonscomptes.com/upplay/

Remy, I read but I don't understand  ;D ;D ;D. What does it do in some easy to get words ? 

Regards

Well,

It works like Bubble/upnp or mconnect Control HD or eezupnp...

Suppose you have a HIFI streamer or streamer/server used to stream music
(stream directly from Qobuz, Tidal etc... or may be a hard disc usb connected to this server part of the streamer - e.g. Metronome DSS or any upnp/dnla streamer, bluesound node 2i streamer ...)

The streamer must be remotly controled (some constructors like bluesound node 2, auralic, aurender etc.... provides they own control applications but are upnp "server" enabled as well dnla). Other streamers uses general upnp, upnp/dnla commands issued by the remote interface.

note: Most streamer are roon compatible (one of the best world wide apllication) but roon requires a roon core (and audio are streamed from it the the player "streamer") and the price is very high while upnp solution is free.

e.g. (High used configuration example - actually used in major high hifi or high end hifi equipment due to its extreme high audio quality) :
( web ) --- internet-box ---- switch ---- ethernet cable -->--- streamer/server -->-- (digital output through coax or optical or I2S or some have USB audio output) -->-- DAC --> analog output to preamp/amp

- A config I use as well other high hifi friends -


This product is supposed to scan the local network for compatible upnp device (here, the streamer/server which will respond)
Now, suppose the streamer is a Metronome DSS.
The Metronome DSS appears than into the interface as audio player and if some external disks are connected to this streamer/server, it appears as source/server too.
The view of the server should show you all supported audio tracks by this streamer from its connected disk resulting from a query upnp command with a return of tracks information as well they included albumart.   

You can than selected files and after selecting the player (a remote player in this cas but it could be a local compatible player too - should be chacked if some OS/2 players are compatible, may be pm123 ), send an upnp command to play the selected tracks gapless or not etc....  (If the player = streamer/server, tracks are read under the streamer/player while if the player is local, it is sent to the local player)

Have a look to eezupnp windows (similar)
http://www.eezupnp.de/

Android mconnect control HD
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.conversdigital.controlhd&gl=US

Regards
Rémy   
     
« Last Edit: December 20, 2022, 06:40:16 pm by Remy »

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Upplay QT5
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2023, 12:40:40 am »
Could no one create an OS/2 build ? (QT5 - please)
https://framagit.org/medoc92/upplay

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4855
  • Karma: +102/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Upplay QT5
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2023, 04:27:56 am »
Could no one create an OS/2 build ? (QT5 - please)
https://framagit.org/medoc92/upplay

Looked at it, first prerequisite, https://github.com/sailfishos/qtmpris creates bad dll's, too long DLL names which I have no idea how to fix.

TeLLie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upplay QT5
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2023, 10:20:56 pm »
HI Dave

I use mostly just os2:TARGET_SHORT = in the pro file
I just compile it.
declarative\qml-plug.dll
src\mprisqt5.dll


Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4855
  • Karma: +102/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Upplay QT5
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2023, 12:10:30 am »
Hi Tellie, I'm obviously missing something, tried this but doesn't work
Code: [Select]
diff --git a/declarative/declarative.pro b/declarative/declarative.pro
index 230c877..38dd985 100644
--- a/declarative/declarative.pro
+++ b/declarative/declarative.pro
@@ -13,7 +13,9 @@ EXAMPLE = ../example/declarative/*
 
 OTHER_FILES += $${EXAMPLE}
 
-TARGET = $${MPRISQTLIB}-qml-plugin
+#TARGET = $${MPRISQTLIB}-qml-plugin
+os2:TARGET_SHORT = $${MPRISQTLIB}-qml-plugin
+
 PLUGIN_IMPORT_PATH = org/nemomobile/mpris
 
 QMAKE_SUBSTITUTES = qmldir.in
diff --git a/qtdbusextended/qtdbusextended.pro b/qtdbusextended/qtdbusextended.pro
index 41c32c3..4ddf21d 100644
--- a/qtdbusextended/qtdbusextended.pro
+++ b/qtdbusextended/qtdbusextended.pro
@@ -3,7 +3,9 @@ CONFIG += qt staticlib
 
 QT = core dbus
 
-TARGET = dbusextended-qt5
+#TARGET = dbusextended-qt5
+
+os2:TARGET_SHORT = dbusextended-qt5
 
 DEFINES += QT_DBUS_EXTENDED_LIBRARY
 
diff --git a/src/src.pro b/src/src.pro
index 75fafca..8f03af8 100644
--- a/src/src.pro
+++ b/src/src.pro
@@ -5,7 +5,9 @@ CONFIG += qt link_pkgconfig no_keywords
 
 QT = core dbus
 
-TARGET = $${MPRISQTLIB}
+#TARGET = $${MPRISQTLIB}
+
+os2:TARGET_SHORT = $${MPRISQTLIB}
 
 QMAKE_SUBSTITUTES = $${TARGET}.prf.in

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2115
  • Karma: +164/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upplay QT5
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2023, 01:21:45 am »
TARGET_SHORT needs to be the <=8 character filename you choose

ie:
os2:TARGET_SHORT = filename
leave TARGET as the default or qmake might complain.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Upplay QT5
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2023, 09:52:12 am »
Hi !

No progress ?

Regards