OS2World OLD-STATIC-BACKUP Forum

OS/2 - Technical => Hardware => Topic started by: OriAl on 2011.03.13, 20:18:58

Title: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.03.13, 20:18:58
I'm still having all sorts of problems.  Not knowing what I'm doing gets in the way, so I'm trying to learn.  Anyway, if my 1.2 is 1.2R rather than MR (though I thought I had kept up with all the updates), what files what I need to manually replace on 1.2 to get it to boot on my 64 bit motherboard?  Kernel, uni or SMP, whatever will work.

My 2.0 migration has to be re-done.  I recall it didn't find a sound card, and that it installed Panorama video driver (I was using SNAP, motherboard does have ATI video.)  It found two network cards - the Intel Pro 10/100 I was using, and the built-in, and selected Genmac for both. I also had trouble remembering the settings it asked for networking. (subnet, etc.) - can I use Win to find them, and have someone here write them down for me?

As always, thank you very much.

Alan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.13, 22:31:37
Hi Alan,

First up I need a little information from you before I can begin to try and talk you through this.

I am assuming your motherboard is the Asus M4A89 GTD Pro you mentioned before.

Your eCS 1.2 is on what type of drive IDE or SATA?  If IDE then I assume it is connected to IDE connector on the MB.
What is your CD/DVD drive connected to and can you boot from it?
If you can boot from CD do you have a bootable cd that will allow you to work with eCS 1.2?
IF no bootable cd do you have a way of accessing the eCS boot partition without booting from it to change and/or add files?

The way you change/add files will depend on the answers to those questions.

ivan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.03.16, 00:17:36
Hi Alan,

First up I need a little information from you before I can begin to try and talk you through this.

I am assuming your motherboard is the Asus M4A89 GTD Pro you mentioned before.

Your eCS 1.2 is on what type of drive IDE or SATA?  If IDE then I assume it is connected to IDE connector on the MB.
What is your CD/DVD drive connected to and can you boot from it?
If you can boot from CD do you have a bootable cd that will allow you to work with eCS 1.2?
IF no bootable cd do you have a way of accessing the eCS boot partition without booting from it to change and/or add files?

The way you change/add files will depend on the answers to those questions.

ivan


Yes, that's the motherboard. 
It's IDE drive on MB controller.
I have a SATA CD, and can boot from 2.0 or 1.2 CD to access the boot partition.

Thank you.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: rwklein on 2011.03.16, 13:20:38
64 bit main boards to my understanding is just not 64 bit only. It can run 32 bit and 16 bit software as well.
I think I briefly read your previous thread. But I did not see you open a ticket at ecomstation.com.

If your machine has more then 2 GB of ram, in general switch to eCS 2.0 and any older version of OS/2. Depending on the hardware eCS 1.2R might just crash and reboot on loading the kernel.

64 bit claims with the current state of technology should not prevent eCS from booting. Some mainboards have problems. But always deal with problem you find first instead of writing long postings. Because clearing up 1 issue you encounter first might fix other issue's.

Roderick Klein
Mensys
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.16, 23:29:50
Hi Alan,

When I have time - hopefully tomorrow - I'll set up a test and check what is needed for the transfer from 32 to 64 bit processors.

From memory the only thing I did when I transplanted the hard drive was to use a patched testcfg.sys and had the latest Dani drivers and updated os2krnl, os2ldr and os2dump (matched set).  The patch for testcfg.sys I got from one of the newsgroups.

ivan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: rwklein on 2011.03.17, 12:17:44
That patched testcfg.sys is loaded in eCS 2.0 if ACPI is detected in your system.

eCS 2.0 has 4 operational hardware mode.

1. Modern hardware safe mode (all ACPI settings including the patched testcfg2.sys are loaded), except load ACPI itself.
2. Modern hardware ACPI mode (acpi is loaded).
3. Legacy system (no ACPI is detected). That means old testcfg.sys is loaded for legacy systems and isasnp.snp etc.
4. Virtual machine mode.


Roderick
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.18, 17:46:21
Hi Alan,

Here are the results of my testing.
There are a few variations from your exact setup.
First, I don't have eCS so I used a copu of OS/2 Merlin with FP 15 applied.
For the bootable CD I used one I had made using Bootable and added the files I wanted to change to it with a friends PowerISO on windows.
The hard disk is a new 150 GB IDE disk with two partitions - a 2 GB formatted HPFS to be the bootable one and a 25 GB HPFS partition, the remainder is blank.
Motherboard is an Asus M4A78LT-M LE with a 4 core processor and 4 GB memory.
There are twi CD/DVD SATA drives and normaly there would be a 500GB and 1 TB SATA hard drives fitted.  These I removes for the test and just used the 150 GB IDE drive cabled to the IDE port.

Required files:
os2dump, os2krnl, os2ldr from smp20050811.zip.
doscall1.dll, os2apic.psd from wseb FP3 (expand doscall1.sm_ from disk 10 and  os2apic.ps_ from disk 14)
danis506.add, daniatapi.flt latest from hobbes.
patched testcfg.sys or the pat file.
a text editor to edit config.sys - can be tedit, epm or anything else that is available on the bootable cd.

Patch file:  go to \os2\boot, create a file testcfg.pat with
 
--------------
; disable APM call (return 0)
FILE TESTCFG.SYS
VER 00001ABC 55
VER 00001ABD 8B
VER 00001ABE EC
CHA 00001ABC 2B
CHA 00001ABD C0
CHA 00001ABE CB
--------------
 
and do 'patch /a testcfg.pat'

Now comes the interesting part.

Boot from CD and do 'dir c:\' just to be sure you can see your eCS boot partition.

copy os2dump, os2krnl and os2ldr to the root of c: = you might need to do 'attrib -h -r -s os2*' if they wont copy.
copy testcfg.sys, danis506.add, daniatapi.flt and os2apic.psd to c:\os2\boot.
Now open config.sys in the text editor. Rem out apm.sys and vapm.sys and add 'psd=os2apic.psd /smp /pic'
save, and you should be ready to reboot and go, at least I did here.

Because you have eCS 2.0 you might be able to find the necessary replacement files on that cd in which use them in preference to those I have mentioned.
The one I am not sure of is testcfg.sys because Roderick says there is a testcfg2.sys but I do know that OS/2 merlin will not boot without the patched testcfg.sys and remming apm and vapm.               
     
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: Pete on 2011.03.19, 01:33:48
Hi Ivan

My eCS2.0 system config.sys file has these 2 lines which may shed a little light on the subject:-

REM DEVICE=H:\OS2\BOOT\TESTCFG.SYS
.
.
.
DEVICE=H:\OS2\BOOT\TESTCFG2.SYS


Near the end of the config.sys file is this morsel of information:-

REM [ Remarks ]
REM -> TESTCFG2.SYS has been patched to support ACPI



Regards

Pete
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.19, 11:30:21
Hi Pete,

Thanks for that snippet of information.

At the moment Alan is trying to get his old install of eCS 1.2 from his old 32 bit computer to work on his new 64 bit motherboard.

Not having eCS here I can't say if using testcfg2 from his eCS 2.0 CD would work - what has been changed to look for testcfg2 in place of testcfg?

ivan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.03.19, 22:48:44
Thank you, Ivan and everyone.  I'm trying to collect the files.  I found  testcfg.sys on the CD - can I use that rather than patching mine in 1.2?

Again, I wish I knew more what I was doing, but I'm trying to learn and understand what's being said.

I can have more than one eCS C: partition if I use Boot Manager (which is telling me Drive 1 is not ready, press any key?)
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.20, 00:36:02
Hi Alan,

You need the patched testcfg.sys for the 64 bit processor and I doubt the one on the eCS1.2 CD is patched.

To make things easy for yourself just have the IDE drive and the CD connected to the motherboard - check the bios settings to be sure you can boot from the CD first and the HD second.

When you have the patched/updated eCS 1.2 up and running then you can add back the other drives and set up bootmanager to boot fron what OS you want.

Attached is the patched testcfg.I used.

ivan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.03.26, 18:57:33
I tried copying the files listed to a 1.2 partition.  Booting started, but then I started getting messages that files in config.sys weren't found (they should be), and finally a system crash.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.26, 20:29:20
Hi Alan,

We are getting there.

Now you need to check the config.sys and make sure the correct drive letter is there for the boot partition.  I have had problems with that when I copied an image of the maintenance partition - originally on D: partition to another disk with partitions C: to E: which made the new partition F:, it started to boot but then threw up a series of file not found messages then crashed.

For example, is the eCS 1.2 now the first one the bios sees and hence gives the letter C to it and was it partition C: when you used it last?  If it was D: or some other letter you will have to go through the config.sys and change every D: to C:.  Likewise if it is now D: or some other letter and was originally C: then you change all the C: to the new letter.

ivan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.03.27, 18:43:01
It should be C: - that's what I marked it as.  It was a C: before.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.27, 19:20:44
If you have other drives connected or other partitions on the disk the rios may not see it as C: hence the messages you are getting.

ivan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.03.28, 20:02:10
I have two drives, and many partitions.  

What  I eventually want to have on Boot Manager is XP, eCS 1.2, and eCS 2.0 (migrated over 1.2.)  Can I have two eCS bootable partitions labeled as C:, or is that not possible?  Unfortunately, due to the way my system has been set up over the years, the boot drive has to be C:

Update - with just the 1.2 partition with the updated files set as C:, I got a boot, but no mouse.  Mouse is a USB Kensington Expert Mouse trackball.  I tried booting with mouse.sys, and then with the Expert Mouse driver which replaces it, but neither worked (there were other problems with the Expert driver boot, too.)
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: Pete on 2011.03.29, 00:27:22
Hi OriAl

Not sure how many you can have - but only 1 "C" can be active at a time.

You could try the AMouse driver package http://www.lemsys.de/nbsoftware/driver-for-mice-with-single-wheel.html - but if the Kensington Expert worked previously then it should still work.

As you've changed the mainboard recently I suspect that the mainboard BIOS may need a tweak: Try Disabling a setting something like "USB Legacy Support".

Also check you have the necessary USB lines in config.sys - the number and type of Controllers may be different to your previous mainboard:-

BASEDEV=USBUHCD.SYS
BASEDEV=USBOHCD.SYS
BASEDEV=USBEHCD.SYS

You need 1 line for each instance of every Controller on the mainboard eg 2UHCD + 1 EHCD:-

BASEDEV=USBUHCD.SYS
BASEDEV=USBUHCD.SYS
BASEDEV=USBEHCD.SYS


Hope the above is of some help.

Pete
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.03.29, 20:08:43
How do I find the number of controllers on the motherboard?

I'll check the bios.

Thank you.-
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.29, 22:35:23
Just grab usbcfgb071.zip from hobbes, unzip and run install then use usbcfg to tell you how many of each controllers you have.

ivan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: Pete on 2011.03.30, 00:49:27
Hi OriAl

Boot to a mouseless Desktop and run USBcfg - http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/system/USBcfgb071-eCS-only.wpi

The Controllers are listed on the 1st page so you should be able to set those correctly without a mouse  :-) 

If the "Controller Drivers Installed" do not match the Type / Quantity displayed in "Controllers Available" use the Tab key to get to the "Default" button and press Enter; that should change the "Controller Drivers Installed" to the type and quantity listed in "Controllers Available".

Regards

Pete
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: ivan on 2011.03.30, 01:49:38
Hi Pete,

I knew there was an eCS version from things you have said before but I couldn't remember what it was.

ivan
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: David McKenna on 2011.03.30, 02:19:00
OriAl,

  An alternative to Pete's suggestion is boot to a command line (via the <alt>F1 menu) and type: HCIMONIT

  You will get a message saying exactly what and how many USB controllers are detected. Then you can manually change CONFIG.SYS using TEDIT.

Regards,

Dave McKenna
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.03.31, 20:23:08
I'll try these suggestions.  Booting to command line seems like a better idea, because I don't see how I can run usbcfg without a mouse.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: RobertM on 2011.04.05, 19:40:01
I'll try these suggestions.  Booting to command line seems like a better idea, because I don't see how I can run usbcfg without a mouse.

Judicious use of the tab and spacebar key. Tab obviously goes forward a field. Alt-Tab goes backwards. Spacebar "presses" buttons (radio, push or checkbox) or activates notebook tabs that are "highlighted". The Enter key works interchangeably with the spacebar key for some of those as well.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.04.10, 19:23:40
Update - I used the usbcfg (it was already on the 1.2 partition), and changed the settings to drivers matched available.  Rebooted, and I have my mouse (with mouse.sys, not the Kensington driver - I'll try to install that after using this for a while.)  I still have no sound, but didn't before, either.

There is no AHCI in config.sys.  That isn't needed for 1.2, if I gather right.

Now that I'm here, how do I find the network name and other things eCS 2 install asks?  I'm eventually going  to save this, and migrate 2.0 over a copy.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.04.12, 18:49:50
I tried to install the Kensington Expert mouse driver.  The mouse wasn't found during boot (it's usb), so I uninstalled that, and rebooted using mouse.sys.  Boot went fine, mouse was working, but system quickly locked up.  So, I'm back in XP.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.04.23, 20:15:11
Same problem remains - system boots to 1.2 (with mouse.sys), works for a few minutes, then locks up.  No popuplog.os2.  Something's still not right.  I believe I installed or replaced all the files I was told about.

I will need the Expert Mouse driver to work as it did prior to the 64 bit motherboard, in 1.2 and 2.0.  I'm disabled, and require the Locked Down setting for the upper left and right buttons.

Thanks, as always.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: RobertM on 2011.04.23, 20:54:14
Have you tried aMouse.sys? I've had better success with that.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.05.04, 20:52:25
Amouse doesn't have a setting to lock down the top buttons on the Expert Mouse.  I need that.

I'm booting with mouse.sys, but the lockups continue.
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: Andi on 2011.05.05, 12:30:01
As you have these problems for a long time I can not remember exactly what you all have tried and did not help. So probably I cant help. But 'sudden lookups' triggered my memory. I've seen such behavior with Realtek rtgnaxxx network drivers (maybe in conjunction with ACPI /APIC switch), Dawicontrol SCSI driver and with smplayer (uniaud, SNAP, dani...???).
Title: Re: Getting 1.2 to boot on 64 bit
Post by: OriAl on 2011.05.14, 20:07:40
I also don't remember what I did to create installable partitions eCS would find, or what had to be done so it would see a copy of my 1.2 partition as installable for migration.