OS2World OLD-STATIC-BACKUP Forum

OS/2 - Technical => Hardware => Topic started by: klipp on 2011.07.20, 06:03:49

Title: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: klipp on 2011.07.20, 06:03:49
How can I get higher resolutions when using LCD Flat panel monitors with WSEB, so far the best I can do is good old 640x480 16color! I've tried eCS's newest SNAP (snap491) and it hangs the mouse on the final step before the final re-boot. I've tried porting both panorama & Snap from eCS 2.1 but that too ends up in disaster! The old CRT moniters work without problems.
  Has anyone had any luck getting this to work?
  Thanks for any ideas.

klipp
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: Blonde Guy on 2011.07.20, 06:22:12
Well, I'm running WSeB with SNAP graphics at 1024 x 768 and 16M colors on an LCD monitor. But SNAP just works -- there are lots of higher resolutions I could have picked, but it's my server, so I really don't need a lot of video for it.

What is your display adapter?
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: ivan on 2011.07.20, 15:16:06
Klipp, I think it may be a problem with your graphics card as Blond Guy says.

I'm running Snap-os2-3.1.8 with the free key.  My monitor is at 1920x1200x16m using an ATI Radeon card.

ivan
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: klipp on 2011.07.20, 16:41:25
Hey guys, thanks for the response's. This machine is a back-up server which has both eCS 2.1 & Linux running at higher resolutions w/o problems. It uses a Nvidia GeForce4 MX440 AGP 8x Video Display card. Seeing as you are having no problems, it looks like I need to screw with WSEB (its a very old "Preview" edition I.B.M. sent me many years ago) and has worked fine until I tried upgrading the Display. I've probably missed upgrading some file! Using a CRT moniter I can go 1280x1024 64k colors.

Thanks for the help

klipp
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: Radek on 2011.07.20, 18:47:11
Note that even if SNAP supports a lot of standard video cards connected to standard monitors, it supports significantly less video cards connected to LCD monitors, and only a few video cards in notebooks. At least, it used to - including SNAP 318. Check a chiplist which comes with your driver and see, whether your video card is supported with a LCD.

If it is not listed in the LCD section then it is possible that SNAP does not support your GeForce with a LCD monitor. I have a similar experience: I have ATI Radeon, which is supported by SNAP but not in notebooks. The end. I must run Panorama, SNAP supports my video only in VESA VBE (unbearably slow).

As to Panorama: AFAIK, Panorama relies on VESA BIOS on your video card. If it is not there or if it is buggy then you are out of luck. Note that winblows do not use VESA, therefore, the BIOS coders do not waste time on it. Even if your card is boasting that it is "VESA VBE 3.0 compatible", the said "compatibility" may consist in passing stadard BIOS video modes to the standard video interrupt 10h. That might be all. Yes, I have seen such "compatible" video card.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: Andi on 2011.07.22, 15:09:32
The usual fail safe way - reset to VGA from ALT-F1 and then reinstall snap3.18. This has ever worked on my systems. Most times skipping reset to VGA works too.

After that set in System-Screen page 2 to (Standard monitor types) and select the correct physical resolution of your TFT should work even when automatic monitor detection does not.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: Pete on 2011.07.22, 16:56:54
Hi klipp

The current eCS supplied SNAP is build 505.

I had a system with a nVidia GeForce4 MX440 AGP several years ago and it ran fine with SNAP 1280x1024@85Hz 16 million colours (CRT monitor).

If your LCD monitor is analog you should be able to get it to work - providing your "preview" WSEB is not missing any files needed due to being a preview.


Regards

Pete
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: klipp on 2011.07.24, 18:51:02
Thanks Andi & Pete!

Andi: I agree with you completely, thats the way it should work, problem is , it doesn't work ! The machine "Hangs" with delayed & jumpy mouse action at the very end of the install where you select color depth, freq, and resolution, with no way to complete the install.

Pete: Hey Pete! Its been a while, how're you doing? I think you are correct when you say something probably got left out tn this early version of WSEB!
I'm in the process of trying a different approach, Running WSEB under eCS 2.1! I actually had this pretty much working until I totally screwed everything up messing with Printer & File sharing. So I need to start all over again! But going this way gives normal working SNAP, LVM & JFS  (all of which were problamatic with this version of WSEB) and gives all the benefits of eCS. Hopefully, soon, (probably later) I'll have this all working once again!

thanks
klipp
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: Pete on 2011.07.25, 02:40:41
Hi klipp

I, err, found a copy of WSEB (torrent) that I was thinking about trying to install at some point but I'm not usre if I have an hardware old enough to install it on. The idea of using it "under" eCS interests me though - especially as I could use more modern hardware.

How do you go about this? Maybe you could provide a "how to"?

Regards

Pete
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: klipp on 2011.07.25, 03:29:08
Hey Pete! I just got the basics up and running once again (I'm an EXPERT at screwing things up!). This time using JFS, (Looks like its doing its thing faster). I've got quite a few things to further check out and if all looks good I will put together a How-To! I'm done for tonight, before I screw it up again!

klipp
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: Andi on 2011.07.26, 13:05:19
Hi klipp

I, err, found a copy of WSEB (torrent) that I was thinking about trying to install at some point but I'm not usre if I have an hardware old enough to install it on. The idea of using it "under" eCS interests me though - especially as I could use more modern hardware.

How do you go about this? Maybe you could provide a "how to"?

Regards

Pete


I would suggest starting LANINST from the WSEB CD within eCS and select the components you need. AFAIK after installation LANINST can be found in \ibmcom\install\
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: RobertM on 2011.07.28, 06:54:33
Certain nVidia and S3 chipsets do not play well with SNAP. I'd posted something similar on that subject elsewhere. I have gotten the MX440 working, but it does seem to take removing all SNAP/GRADD and similar references (after reverting to VGA) and re-installing GRADD support, followed by (with VGA still in use), installing SNAP.

The performance was very very horrendous. An ancient ATI card works far better (like a Radeon 9250).
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: RobertM on 2011.07.28, 06:58:10
Hi klipp

I, err, found a copy of WSEB (torrent) that I was thinking about trying to install at some point but I'm not usre if I have an hardware old enough to install it on. The idea of using it "under" eCS interests me though - especially as I could use more modern hardware.

How do you go about this? Maybe you could provide a "how to"?

Regards

Pete


I would suggest starting LANINST from the WSEB CD within eCS and select the components you need. AFAIK after installation LANINST can be found in \ibmcom\install\

After that, you should find the latest updates, and apply them - especially if you end up backleveling components to WSeB's component levels (networking largely, but there are probably others).


For a bare WSeB install:
WSeB will be problematic to install on newer hardware (semi-new) without some updates to the CDs. Most problematic will be the IDE driver (easy swap to DANI's - just replace and rename to IBM1S506). On some of the newest hardware, it will require a bit more work.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: klipp on 2011.07.28, 18:24:47
This is a pretty sad example of a How-To, Pete - But here's how I made it work:

I had WSEB up and running fine on an old box with with a Tyan Tomcat M.B. and I wanted it running exactly the same on a newer box using eCS 2.1 using a LCD Moniter.

I booted to another partition on this old box that had eCS installed, and copied the contents of the WSEB partition to a memory stick.

Then on the new box, I created a new Primary partition, and formatted it JFS.

Next I copied the contents of the memory stick to that new primary partition, and made it startable.

Then I installed eCS 2.1 on this partition (leaving out the install of File & Print Client) but doing a Migrate without formatting.

The final re-boot of the install brought up WSEB in an eCS 2.1 atmosphere, with only minor tunning up of the Desptop required.

Here is a snapshot of the desktop:

http://www.os2-ecs-mexico.com/images/ecs-wseb2.bmp

klipp
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: ivan on 2011.07.28, 21:09:25
Quote
For a bare WSeB install:
WSeB will be problematic to install on newer hardware (semi-new) without some updates to the CDs. Most problematic will be the IDE driver (easy swap to DANI's - just replace and rename to IBM1S506). On some of the newest hardware, it will require a bit more work.

Hi Robert,

I have the joy of setting up a couple of servers next month.  They have a Super Micro 6DVA-4G board in a SC811s chasis.

My problem is not the IDE drivers - only the CD uses them, and I've got the LSI driver for the SCSI, but the fact it's all Intel - processors, chipset and lan, something I've never really had to deal with before as I normally use AMD processors and ATI graphics.

I have an updated WSeB CD image just waiting for me to find the lan driver before I burn it.

Other than that is there anything you think I should look out for?

ivan
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: RobertM on 2011.07.29, 02:33:51
Hi Ivan,

None that I can see. The Intel E7320 chipset should be supported by WSeB v4.51 and above - it's a common chipset in various HP servers, some of which are well tested to run OS/2 WSeB (of that revision).

The Intel Pro 100/1000 driver (such as what's used on the 82540EM Desktop MT adapter) are supposed to work with the 82541GI variant on that board - even in PCI-X (though I have not tested that). I STRONGLY suggest version 3.61 of the drivers, and not the newer v4.09 on Intel's website. If you cannot find a copy, let me know. Alternatively, the new Intel drivers ported to eComStation may also work (though I haven't dug into them yet, as I've had no need).

Video should be fine (try SNAP).

USB - I'd suggest updating to the newest USB drivers discussed in the forums here, even if the WSeB ones work.

SMP support - you may be limited to using OS2APIC and may not get full support for all cores. Depends on how much the chipset support varies from the MP1.4 specs - in that area, my only experience has been (a) I've gotten two single core CPUs to work, (b) I've gotten two HT CPUs to be recognized as a total of two, and (c) I've gotten only 2 of 4 CPUs to be recognized in quad CPU setup - but that was with a different (albeit earlier, and supposedly supporting MP1.4) chipset. Your results will probably vary. If it does not recognize all the CPUs and/or cores, you're going to be needing ACPI - as in, eComStation 2.x

SATA should of course work with Dani's drivers (as you've probably guessed).

As for SCSI, there are quite a few LSI drivers floating around. Ensure you get one with the richest feature support (ie: RAID1). I have some experience with that particular LSI chipset, but I may be glomming together that experience with other LSI Logic based cards/controllers. Regardless, *if* you find that you "cannot operate... disk" when trying to install, constrain the boot partition to 8GB or less, in the beginning of the disk (it's a SCSI limitation in various cards - and OS/2 relies on it's Int13H support for booting). *SOME* such LSI implementations are settable at 1GB/2GB/4GB/8GB, but those are usually only found embedded in certain HP systems, so, you shouldn't hit anything but the 8GB limit (IF you hit one at all).

Well, that's all I've got... let me know if you have any problems.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: RobertM on 2011.07.29, 02:44:23
Most of that (other than looking up your hardware specs) is from memory... I'll doublecheck it when I take a break from work.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: ivan on 2011.07.29, 14:00:24
Thanks Robert,

I've got the driver for the LSI 53c1020 that appears to be the last available but I will have to take you up on the offer of the NIC driver - the latest on hobbes gives a list of chips and says NOT to use if the chip not on the list.

The CPUs are standard Xeon 3.2 Ghz single core - 2 per server - so there shouldn't be any problems there.

As I said I have the image of the second CD on the computer just waiting to see if I need to add anything else - yes NIC driver - before I burn it.

Thinking back over all the computers I've owned, the only Intel processor was an 80286 and even that had a Citrix co-processor.  If these can be put with the AMD based servers and forgotten about for months on end then I'll be satisfied.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: RobertM on 2011.07.29, 14:33:37
This I am only slightly sure of, but I suspect the NIC driver is in WSeB. It should be e1000 (on the CD/disk) and come up similar to how I named it. I'll make you a copy of the driver and have it ready just in case.


Either way:
If it autodetects and selects that driver, you need to make sure it sees both NICs (assuming 2). Otherwise, add another entry via MPTS. You may (probably) will have to configure the slot id info manuly (you will know if you have to by whether or not the drivers load with an error).

You may need a bus sniffing tool to find out the slot ID of the NICs (unless your BIOS reports that info). I've had success with using one method of identifying the slot (the help instructions indicate one specific way, and other notes indicate the other - not sure which worked, but I think it was using the slot id's in hex such as 0x81 - your value will probably drastically vary from that, as I have 5 different PCI buses in my systems, instead of one). Worst case, once you've got one of the cards working, most of the e1000 drivers will report the slot ID when they "activate" the card - you can use that as a reference on how to manually configure the slot IDs (which you should to do for BOTH cards, not just the card that isn't detected).

And of course, the easiest way to do it is to install WSeB, and if it does not autodetect the card, select the null adapter, which is named " No network adapter" and do your needed bindings (ie: TCP/IP, NetBIOS, etc) to that "network card". Later, you can then easily use MPTS to change from the null adapter to the correct driver.

On some BCM87 cards I had to get running, that's the method I used (well, I've used that method for ages), as it ensures all the networking components get properly installed and creates less hassle trying to install them after the OS install.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: RobertM on 2011.07.29, 14:45:59
Hmmm... you may wish to try the newer drivers on Hobbes located here:
http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/h-search.php?key=intel+pro+driver&pushbutton=Search

You'll find four versions there that work with the 8254x chipsets.

The newest I found via Intel's site was much earlier (pretty sure it was v4.09), and that was only 5 years ago - but then again, I was specifically searching for the 82540EM based card's driver, and they simply may not have updated their compatibility database/search tool to indicate that the newer drivers support that chipset as well.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: ivan on 2011.07.29, 16:58:51
Just checked the CD - the last set we got from IBM - and the only driver is the e100b so I will grab the e1000 from hobbes and add it.

I've used the nullndis driver several times when we weren't sure what network card we would end up using on a particular machine.  In fact I have the standard image file, for restoring the machines, setup with that and the SNAP drivers so that it will work on any machine here - saved the day many times, like the time every HD in the place wanted to go on holiday one after the other - we went through 30 in one week.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: miturbide on 2011.08.02, 00:03:47
Hi

Does anybody know if I can use a video resolution of 1600x900 on eCS 2.1 with SNAP installed on a VirtualBox machine as a guest?
The host is using 1600x900, but I can not set the resolution to 1600x900 on the guest eCS 2.1. SNAP does not show me on the option list.

I had been using also GAMODE without any luck:

[C:\snap]gamode add 1600 900 64
Failed to add mode 1600 x 900 x 64!

Any hint/idea/suggestion will be welcome.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: sXwamp on 2011.08.02, 00:35:52
Hi

Does anybody know if I can use a video resolution of 1600x900 on eCS 2.1 with SNAP installed on a VirtualBox machine as a guest?
The host is using 1600x900, but I can not set the resolution to 1600x900 on the guest eCS 2.1. SNAP does not show me on the option list.

I had been using also GAMODE without any luck:

[C:\snap]gamode add 1600 900 64
Failed to add mode 1600 x 900 x 64!

Any hint/idea/suggestion will be welcome.


Yes, you can use 1600x900 in vBox see below:


VirtualBox 4.08 and eComStation 2.1

http://www.os2notes.com/os2virtualbox.html


Greggory
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: miturbide on 2011.08.02, 16:15:05
Thanks for the info Greggory.

Just one question I have Virtuabox guest add-ons installed.

After running on the host "VBoxManage setextradata "eComStation 2.1" CustomVideo1 "1600x900x32" " should the resolution appears on the System Setup Screen? cause I still don't see that option.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: sXwamp on 2011.08.02, 17:36:54
Thanks for the info Greggory.

Just one question I have Virtuabox guest add-ons installed.

After running on the host "VBoxManage setextradata "eComStation 2.1" CustomVideo1 "1600x900x32" " should the resolution appears on the System Setup Screen? cause I still don't see that option.


Yes, it should show up:

1) Don't use SNAP or Panorama
2) Make sure that vBox is completely shut down when you execute the "VBoxManage setextradata "eComStation 2.1" CustomVideo1 "1600x900x32" command.
3) NOTE: change "eComStation 2.1" to whatever you named the VM.


Greggory
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: miturbide on 2011.08.02, 22:48:06
1) Don't use SNAP or Panorama

Do you mean to reset the driver to VGA? or anything else?  I had tried it without any results yet.
By the way my virtualmachine is also called "eComStation 2.1" ;)
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: sXwamp on 2011.08.02, 23:47:45
1) Don't use SNAP or Panorama

Do you mean to reset the driver to VGA? or anything else?  I had tried it without any results yet.
By the way my virtualmachine is also called "eComStation 2.1" ;)

I followed the exact instructions from the readme for the installation of the extensions. I believe
just reset it to GRADD -- I tried SNAP & Panorama just to test and had problems.

What version of vBox are you using ???
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: miturbide on 2011.08.03, 04:30:41
I'm using VirtualBox 4.1 running on Win7 64bits host.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: sXwamp on 2011.08.03, 06:25:09
I'm using VirtualBox 4.1 running on Win7 64bits host.



I just upgraded vBox to 4.1 and I'm running Win 7 Ultimate, 32-bit to test this out.

Still works for me at 1600x900x32.

It took me a long time to finish that article and it pissed me for a while until I got
it finished. I double checked the instructions and tried out to many different
configurations. So, all I can say is that it's working here - sorry I can't be more helpful.

Greggory

Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: miturbide on 2011.08.03, 23:27:27
Hi Greggory.

Sorry but I can also find out what I'm doing wrong on my side. I also had reinstalled the "Guest Additions" and replaced the gengradd.dlla and I can not make the 1600x900x32 resolution to appear as a screen resolution option.

But believe me Greggory, I really appreciate your help and online tutorial. 

Just one last question. What did you put as Video Device when you installed the Virtual Machine? I will try a new fresh install in other virtual machine.

Thanks.
Title: Re: WSEB and LCD Flat panel moniters?¿?¿
Post by: sXwamp on 2011.08.03, 23:49:13
Hi Greggory.

Sorry but I can also find out what I'm doing wrong on my side. I also had reinstalled the "Guest Additions" and replaced the gengradd.dlla and I can not make the 1600x900x32 resolution to appear as a screen resolution option.

But believe me Greggory, I really appreciate your help and online tutorial. 

Just one last question. What did you put as Video Device when you installed the Virtual Machine? I will try a new fresh install in other virtual machine.

Thanks.

I installed using SNAP and then used the post-installation task program to change Video to Panorama.  Then finally reset to GenGRADD and installed the extensions.
Make sure that you have the Video memory set to at least 7MB.