Author Topic: Now I have input, I need output.  (Read 6991 times)

rdonnelly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Now I have input, I need output.
« on: 2008.11.07, 23:55:42 »
Thanks for all the help with the input devices, (Mouse and KB). I am having problems setting up a printer, an OKI C5510MFP. I is installed on a network, as well as USB. I dont have a clue how to set up either, I have not set up an OS2 orinter since the days of LPT ports. Well, if any one could give me a walk through it would help.

TIA Bob
Just waiting for eCS to have all the features................

RobertM

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2034
    • View Profile
    • A.I.BuiltPC - using OS/2 Warp Server & eComStation for Custom Web and Database Solutions
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #1 on: 2008.11.08, 00:15:18 »
USB PRINTING:


For USB print support, you need to find and un-REM the USB print support driver in the config.sys file (and reboot). After that, USB should be a connection option under "OUTPUT PORT" on the printer's properties notebook.

If you cannot find a USBPRINT line in your config.sys, you need to add it - use the same calling conventions/format as used for USB Mouse..












NETWORK PRINTING:


METHOD #1 (Assumes you have a network port driver for the printer - unlikely):
For network printing - IF you have a network port driver, there are instructions in the help files. Load any help file, go to the "Search all help files" tool (or in the original help viewer, go to Services->Search and then select "Search all libraries"). Search for "Creating a Network Port" - it should bring you to a very simple instruction page that gets you on your way.



METHOD #2 (the method that you probably need):
For this method, open the printer's object properties notebook, right click on the PIPE\LPD0 port and select "Properties" - from there, access the help information for detailed instructions on how to set it up (and note the requirement for ensuring LPRPORTD is running. You can have it autostart as an icon in the startup folder, or enable it as a network service autostart in the TCPCFG2 (TCPCFG for Warp 4 16bit TCP stack and earlier) notebook. You can find it on the "Autostart" tab in the Autostarted Services list.

In addition, if you have more than one network printer, you can click on the "Printing" tab in the TCPCFG/TCPCFG2 notebook and increase the number (the default, if memory serves, is 1 network printer - thus one port available via a printer's object properties). Then simply (for each printer) configure a port (use a different port, such as PIPE\LPD0, PIPE\LPD1, etc for each network printer) with the required information for the location of the printer. I am guessing that using such a printer will be easiest if it has a static IP address. Simply assign it one, and ensure that your router's (or NAT device's) DHCP pool range is set to not assign whatever IP address you give the printer. For instance:

- Set the printer to 192.168.0.200
- Set the DHCP params in the router/NAT device to only assign IP's from the 192.168.0.2 - 192.168.0.199 range (assuming router is at 192.168.0.1).



If your network is already set up with static routes, then the above steps related to DHCP do not apply of course.




Hope that helps! If not, let us know.
Robert
« Last Edit: 2008.11.08, 00:47:46 by RobertM »
|
|
Kirk's 5 Year Mission Continues at:
Star Trek New Voyages
|
|


rdonnelly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #2 on: 2008.11.08, 04:15:43 »
I am able to initialize the printer, via USB and as a netwrok printer, the printer panel displays "Printing ..." but the printer throws an error light "Invalid data received" Maybe I need to use a different driver?
Just waiting for eCS to have all the features................

RobertM

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2034
    • View Profile
    • A.I.BuiltPC - using OS/2 Warp Server & eComStation for Custom Web and Database Solutions
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #3 on: 2008.11.08, 04:26:41 »
I am able to initialize the printer, via USB and as a netwrok printer, the printer panel displays "Printing ..." but the printer throws an error light "Invalid data received" Maybe I need to use a different driver?

It sounds like that.
|
|
Kirk's 5 Year Mission Continues at:
Star Trek New Voyages
|
|


rdonnelly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #4 on: 2008.11.08, 15:35:40 »
It sounds as if I may have to make my own driver with a PPD.

http://www.os2world.com/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,63/topic,1272.msg8744/#msg8744

I looked in the windows 386 cab, with no look on the PPD for that printer.
Just waiting for eCS to have all the features................

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #5 on: 2008.11.09, 05:21:48 »
Hi Bob

I'm not very "up" on writing PPD files but did have some success about 2 years ago with modifying a CUPS PPD file so that CUPS worked at a basic level with the printer concerned - a Canon iP4000.

The trick was to edit an existing CUPS PPD file for a similar make/model to reflect the capabilities of the printer to use; I seem to recall it was mainly change Resolution, PageSize , MediaType and InputSlot - oh, and make/model details plus the filename that you save the edited PPD file to.

With a bit of luck you will be able to then use it with CUPS for eCS(OS/2) http://svn.netlabs.org/ecups

Regards

Pete

RobertM

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2034
    • View Profile
    • A.I.BuiltPC - using OS/2 Warp Server & eComStation for Custom Web and Database Solutions
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #6 on: 2008.11.09, 06:28:29 »
Bob,

Does the printer support postscript? If not, I fear you will not find a PPD file to convert.

Robert
|
|
Kirk's 5 Year Mission Continues at:
Star Trek New Voyages
|
|


Saijin_Naib

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1357
  • Birdie Num-Nums
    • View Profile
    • Synperz Domain
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #7 on: 2008.11.09, 10:41:57 »
Pretty sure my HP-PSC is not Post-Script compatible but Linuxprinting.org has a PPD file for damned near every printer in existence.

http://www.linuxfoundation.org/en/OpenPrinting

Give it a go :)

rdonnelly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #8 on: 2008.11.09, 15:41:37 »
Here is the answer from Oki.

Bob,

Thank you for your recent inquiry.

This model machine does not support postscript. Postscript drivers are
unavailable for this printer.


If we can do anything else for you in the future, please don't hesitate to
ask!
Also, you may be interested to know that Oki Data has now launched
my.okidata.com, which allows you to access Personalized Solutions
information for all your Oki Data Products.

Your Personal Solutions Specialist

Kevin

S_N, I will take a look at the Linix site, but I am not sure it is going to help me being my printer does not support PS? I will at least try it.
Just waiting for eCS to have all the features................

rdonnelly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #9 on: 2008.11.09, 16:18:54 »
I found some specs, It says it takes a Windows GDI Driver? What does that compare too?

http://www.ciao.co.uk/OKI_C5510_MFP__6606301#productdetail

This PDF says it is Hiper C http://rds.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0geu.ra8hZJENcAFSpXNyoA;_ylu=X3oDMTBybnZlZnRlBHNlYwNzcgRwb3MDMQRjb2xvA2FjMgR2dGlkAw--/SIG=12vqji9da/EXP=1226327130/**http%3a//www.okidata.com/canada_en/downloads/pres_server4_compat_20060529.pdf

I am begining to think that running this printer in eCS is a lost cause. :'(
« Last Edit: 2008.11.09, 16:49:40 by rdonnelly »
Just waiting for eCS to have all the features................

Saijin_Naib

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1357
  • Birdie Num-Nums
    • View Profile
    • Synperz Domain
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #10 on: 2008.11.09, 19:23:33 »
GDI is (was) the Windows graphics subsystem that was used for nearly everything except complex 3D or accelerated video (DirectX replaced GDI for that). GDI has been replaced for printing in Vista by a new XML based subsystem which is what .XPS files are. They are XML based raw printer output similar to PDF files. In any case, dig through that linuxprinting site, there should be a ppd for it.

rudi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #11 on: 2008.11.09, 20:31:39 »
I found some specs, It says it takes a Windows GDI Driver? What does that compare too?

GDI printers contain only a dumb printing mechanic. In order to make these devices extra
cheap, the whole data processing / page rendering is done in the (Windows-) driver. They
don't use any standard printer language (like Postscript or PCL).

Quote
I will take a look at the Linix site, but I am not sure it is going to help me being my printer
does not support PS?

The Linux printing system (CUPS) does support some of of those GDI printers. This is done by
emulating a Postscript printer. That means that instead of sending Postscript data directly to
the printer, it is captured. The page is then rendered by software (usually some GhostScript
derivate) and then converted into something the printer might understand. The PPD informs the
application and/or the standard postscript printer driver about the specifics of the emulated printer.

There is an OS/2 port of CUPS. However, I don't know whether the original (Linux-) CUPS will
support the particular printer you have, nor if the OS/2 version is mature/stable/feature-complete
enough to be considered.


Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #12 on: 2008.11.09, 22:21:03 »
Hi Bob

If the C5540MFP or C5550MFP are the same product line as the C5510MFP there is a good chance that the PPD files will work with minor editing.

Looking at the 2 PPD files for the above printers there only difference is the model name... so  suggest you grab the PPD here and see if you can get it to work with CUPS http://openprinting.org/ppd-o-matic.cgi?driver=Postscript&printer=Oki-C5550_MFP&show=1

Regards

Pete

rdonnelly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #13 on: 2008.11.10, 00:35:28 »
The 5540 and 5550 are both post script. The 5510 is proprietory windoze. I could not find a PPD for the 5510 in linux or any where on the web. Could not even find a Mac OS PPD. May have to go with a separate printer, if I want to migrate to OS/2?


Thanks Bob
Just waiting for eCS to have all the features................

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Now I have input, I need output.
« Reply #14 on: 2008.11.11, 21:43:59 »
Hi Bob

Sorry, maybe I was not making my thoughts clear...

CUPS works with non-Postscript printers - if you have a PPD file.

The C5540/C5550 PPD files are just to give you a starting point in creating your own C5510 PPD file for use with CUPS. You would need to set all values to be specific to the C5510 - PageSize etc - and remove any sections not relevant to the C5510.

When you get CUPS and the printer working OK the next step is to hook it up to the Desktop. By looking through the (earlier) "CUPS how to" you will see how to create an eCS(OS/2) printer object to work with a CUPS installation.

A bit of work involved but if you have the time and want to get the printer working...

Regards

Pete