• Welcome to OS2World OLD-STATIC-BACKUP Forum.

News:

This is an old OS2World backup forum for reference only. IT IS READ ONLY!!!

If you need help with OS/2 - eComStation visit http://www.os2world.com/forum

Main Menu

Backup/Restore process

Started by LookingForHelp, 2009.08.28, 23:26:54

Previous topic - Next topic

LookingForHelp

Hi all,

I'm new to OS/2, but not to hardware and PC's.  I have an interesting problem, and I'm sure I'm not the first one to live through this...  I'm hoping someone on this board can suggest some solutions.

The company I work for develops, fabricates, sells, and supports industrial machinery.  About 6 months ago, we acquired, as part of a contract with a new customer, a used machine which uses an OS/2-based PC as the user interface.  This machine (and the PC) presently works perfectly fine, and as such, we do not have any issues with it.  HOWEVER, we have just sold it to a new customer looking for a used machine, and therein lies the problem...  We need to support this customer in the event that something fails within the next few months or so.  How do we backup this system?  How do we replace the PC with a modern PC in the event we need to (or any part of it, such as video, or network cards?)  We do NOT have any CD's, disks, or any other media to re-install software.  Are we SOL?

I'm thinking we should be able to "ghost" (image) the drive somehow w/o removing it from the PC (i.e. we need to avoid moving parts around until we ALREADY have a working backup and a plan to restore.)  Also, if we ever need to replace the PC, can the application (customer software for the machine) be migrated, even though we do not have installation CD's?

Thanks for your input.  I don't expect this to be easy or doable, but I'm asking all the same!!

JL

Radek

(1) You can make an image by something that understands HPFS. One nice utility that can do it is PING, a Linux partition backup/restore. You can download PING here