Author Topic: Where does the Community Chats ?  (Read 4264 times)

miturbide

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • View Profile
    • OS2World
Where does the Community Chats ?
« on: 2010.03.04, 19:23:52 »
Hi

This is a question on which I need feedback. Were does the common eCS-OS2 users chats ?

  • #netlabs at IRC.netlabs.org had several developers, but it more where the developers chat.
  • #ecs at irc.ecomstation.com has only a few users.
  • #os2world at the efnet, we better don't talk about it ;)
  • #os2warez at the efnet, had more users, but it uses to be a warez channel, now I does not seems like it anymore.

So, I'm just talking about IRC, but do you know any other eCS-OS2 chat rooms ?
Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com

abwillis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #1 on: 2010.03.07, 23:48:33 »
It's rare to find many there but there is #warpzilla on moznet:
irc://irc.mozilla.org/#warpzilla

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 322
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #2 on: 2010.03.08, 10:56:01 »
Hi

This is a question on which I need feedback. Were does the common eCS-OS2 users chats ?

  • #netlabs at IRC.netlabs.org had several developers, but it more where the developers chat.
  • #ecs at irc.ecomstation.com has only a few users.
  • #os2world at the efnet, we better don't talk about it ;)
  • #os2warez at the efnet, had more users, but it uses to be a warez channel, now I does not seems like it anymore.

So, I'm just talking about IRC, but do you know any other eCS-OS2 chat rooms ?

If people want a modern IRC client to try - head to http://os2ports.smedley.info and check out Quassel IRC - I'm smedles in #netlabs :)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #3 on: 2010.03.08, 15:11:02 »
Hi Paul,

What am I doing wrong?  I get the following error message.

Could not initialize any storage backend! Exiting...
Currently. Quassel supports SQLite3 and PostgreSQL.  You need to build your Qt library with the
sqlite or postgres plugin enabled in order for quasselcore to work.

Does that mean I have to have either sqlite or postgre running in able to use Quassel?

thanks

ivan

diver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #4 on: 2010.03.08, 16:45:22 »
do you have a qt.conf in x:\os2\dll ? if yes delete that one.
in mptn/etc should be a qtsys.conf.

the above file is a leftover of an old qt4 installation.
i hope you deinstalled the older before installing qt4 GA. if not please deinstall everything and install it new.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #5 on: 2010.03.08, 18:17:24 »
Hi diver,

I don't have a qt.conf in os2\dll and do have the qtsys.conf in mptn\etc.

The Qt4 GA install is the only one I've done on this machine and the Qbittorrent app works without problems - in fact that was the reason for installing qt4 ga.

If necessary I will use warpin to uninstall the GA and reinstall it.

ivan

Ben

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • What is really important?
    • View Profile
    • The Self Wrighting Network
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #6 on: 2010.03.08, 18:29:04 »
Ivan, I get the same problem as you do... precisely.

I have no qt.conf anywhere and the qtsys.conf where it should be.

Other QT programs work fine including the QBittorrrent

diver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #7 on: 2010.03.08, 19:36:47 »
i hope you installed all Qt4 runtime options.

do you have a x:\ecs\system\qt4\plugins directory?
in this directory are several subdirs. one of them is the sqldrivers. and there needs to be qsqlit4.dll

regards
Silvan

diver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #8 on: 2010.03.08, 19:37:48 »
ah btw i'm glad qbittorent is used that much. so my effort at least was worth it.

regards
Silvan

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #9 on: 2010.03.08, 22:18:35 »
Hi diver,

I'm running OS/2 here not eCS.

The sqlit4.dIl is in the x:\os2\dll\qt\sqldrivers dir, not the plugins.

Does this path have to go in the qtsys.conf file?

ivan

diver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #10 on: 2010.03.09, 13:03:08 »
so it look like your installation is wrong. are you sure you did not have an earlyer version installed?

as the path needs to be below a plugin dir.

i suggest to uninstall it with warpin and nstall it again.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #11 on: 2010.03.09, 16:32:19 »
Hi diver,

I've solved the problem.

There appears to be a small problem with the script in the wpi that sets up Qt4.

I assume it works on eCS because of the different path structure.  On OS/2 the qtsys.conf is as follows:
[Paths]
Prefix = "C:/OS2/APPS/Qt4"
Settings = "$(ETC)/xdg"

Yes, there is such a directory but it only contains the documentation and a utility to update the qtsys.conf.

when I changed it to:
[Paths]
Prefix = "C:/OS2/DLL/Qt"
Settings = "$(ETC)/xdg"

Quassel works.

BTW, thanks for QBittorrent.

ivan

diver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #12 on: 2010.03.09, 17:08:33 »
this is really strange, as the wpi should do it right.

are you 100% sure you never installed qt4 bevore GA?
as plugins should go under APPS\Qt4

could you please uninstall it and install again?

Ben

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • What is really important?
    • View Profile
    • The Self Wrighting Network
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #13 on: 2010.03.09, 22:53:44 »
For me the plugins directory is in the right place as was the conf file with it accurately reflected things.

However I installed my QT4 directory into the root of I:\ but the plugins directory went to %etc% as listed.

I moved I:/QT4/utils into the *:/ecs/* directory and now everything works fine.

I guess it is a limitation of the installation script that you cannot completely choose where to install the client.

Nevertheless everyone, (particularly Paul), thanks for your work and I do appreciate it.

diver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: Where does the Community Chats ?
« Reply #14 on: 2010.03.10, 10:57:54 »
this seems all a bit strange to me. as the wpi should do everything to the right place.
if one ever had installed a pre GA wpi always uninstall it first and then install the GA wpi. this should install all components to the right place.
if it doesn't install right and it's reproducable please open a ticket in svn.netlabs.org/qt4

regards
Silvan
Qt4 project manager
« Last Edit: 2010.03.10, 13:47:45 by diver »