• Welcome to OS2World OLD-STATIC-BACKUP Forum.

News:

This is an old OS2World backup forum for reference only. IT IS READ ONLY!!!

If you need help with OS/2 - eComStation visit http://www.os2world.com/forum

Main Menu

SAMBA / CUPS Configuration Needed to share printer to windows client

Started by ghelfrich, 2011.02.08, 17:18:44

Previous topic - Next topic

ghelfrich

I have set up SAMBA on my eCS v2 machine to share several USB drives to my other eCS machines and windows laptop.  I have been doing this for 6 months and it has worked quite well.  Now that I have some experience and experience using it, I wanted to also set up an old HP PhotoSmart 1215 printer to the same eCS machine and share it to my other machines, particularly my windows laptop. 

The other evening, I was able to install CUPS set up this printer using an USB connection.  From this local machine, I can print to the printer using CUPS.  The SAMBA configuration utility recognizes the printer as a shared resource. 

Here is my issue and question.  What CUPS and SAMBA configuration do I need to change to allow other machines to see this printer to be able to print to.  It does look like my windows vista laptop does recognize the printer when I point to \\machine ip\printer name     It will add the printer, but the status shows as "access denied".  I have been doing some research, and it appears I need to config to have the printer set up with anonymous access or such.  I found the following website which gave some good details on what to look at: 

http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Debian-and-Windows-Shared-Printing/sharing_with_windows.html

However, my eCS SAMBA config files look just enough different to be confusing.  Needless to say, I tried to do as much as I could or figure out, but it still doesn't work.  I have not been able to find a lot of (good) info on how to share a printer using CUPS through SAMBA on eCS with both windows and other eCS machines.