Author Topic: Java for os2  (Read 63632 times)

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #165 on: 2012.01.04, 19:18:40 »
Hi Martin

I'm trying Datacrow but it just freeze after loading.

Well, that is 1 step further than I get: The app starts, asks me what language to use and I select English then the app closes.

However, that was trying to use javaw.exe to run the app.

I changed that to java.exe and now see in the cmd window that there are problems which seem to revolve around this error:-

     java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: plugins/about (wrong name: plugins/About)


Reading the datacrow\readme\readme.txt I see this:-

    -dir:<installation directory>
     Use this parameter when Data Crow starts incorrectly and complains
     about missing directories (non Windows platform only).

Well, datacrow\plugins\about.class could be the missing plugin that is being moaned about in the error messages so I tried adding the datacrow installation directory to the command to start datacrow. I now have a program object with the following:-

Path and filename:  J:\JAVA\OPENJDK6\BIN\JAVA.EXE
Parameters: -jar -Xmx256m -dir:J:\Java\datacrow J:\Java\datacrow\datacrow.jar

No good, that simply fails to start the app, no error messages displayed - until I uncheck the program object Properties, Session, Close window on exit. I now see:-

Unrecognised option: -dir:J:\Java\datacrow
Could not create the java virtual machine.


So, looks like the -dir parameter in the readme is wrong; maybe there should be a space in the dir parameter ie
Parameters: -jar -Xmx256m -dir: J:\Java\datacrow J:\Java\datacrow\datacrow.jar

Well that gets rid of the above "Unrecognised option" error but results in this instead:-
"Unable to access jarfile J:\Java\datacrow"

At that point I gave up and emailed the datacrow guys asking what is going wrong. Hopefully I'll get a reply at some point.


Regards

Pete





Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #166 on: 2012.01.05, 20:20:44 »
Hi Martin

What does the \datacrow\data\data_crow.log show there?


Regards

Pete

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #167 on: 2012.01.06, 00:00:28 »
Hi Pete.

Shouldn't
Quote
Path and filename:  J:\JAVA\OPENJDK6\BIN\JAVA.EXE
Parameters: -jar -Xmx256m -dir:J:\Java\datacrow J:\Java\datacrow\datacrow.jar
the parameters be:

Parameters: -Xmx256m -dir:J:\Java\datacrow -jar J:\Java\datacrow\datacrow.jar

All the options should appear before -jar

ivan

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #168 on: 2012.01.06, 01:51:02 »
Hi ivan

Must admit that I am not that up on starting java apps with lots of parameters and had not realised that the options should appear before the "-jar" bit. However, there is a datacrow.cmd file supplied with the app that contains just this line:-

java -jar -Xmx256m DataCrow.jar

Looks like the developer also does not know that options come before the "-jar" bit...

Having tried it I can report that the -dir parameter does not work as using that parameter results in:-

Unrecognised option: -dir:J:\Java\datacrow
Could not create the java virtual machine.

To get around that I used a datacrow.cmd file containing:-

SET DATACROW_HOME=J:\Java\datacrow
J:\JAVA\OPENJDK6\BIN\JAVA.EXE -Xmx256m -jar J:\Java\datacrow\datacrow.jar


Trying the cmd file results in the original errors based around:-

java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: plugins/about (wrong name: plugins/About)


Interestingly the data_crow.log does not mention the above errors but does indicate a possible cause of the problem here:-

 INFO [main] (DataCrow.java:237) - Thu Jan 05 23:37:17 GMT 2012 Starting Data Crow.
 INFO [main] (DataCrow.java:239) - Using installation directory: J:/Java/datacrow/
 INFO [main] (DataCrow.java:240) - Using data directory: J:/Java/datacrow/data/
 INFO [main] (DataCrow.java:241) - Using images directory: J:/Java/datacrow/webapp/datacrow/mediaimages/
ERROR [main] (Setting.java:348) - An error occurred while converting [] to a valid settings value
java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: -1
   at java.lang.String.substring(String.java:1949)
   at net.datacrow.core.settings.Setting.setStringAsValue(Setting.java:277)
   at net.datacrow.core.settings.Settings.setString(Settings.java:194)
   at net.datacrow.core.settings.SettingsFile.load(SettingsFile.java:87)
   at net.datacrow.settings.Settings.load(Settings.java:53)
   at net.datacrow.settings.DcApplicationSettings.<init>(DcApplicationSettings.java:75)
   at net.datacrow.settings.DcSettings.<clinit>(DcSettings.java:51)
   at net.datacrow.core.DataCrow.main(DataCrow.java:245)
 INFO [main] (DataCrow.java:828) - Data Crow 3.9.11
 INFO [main] (DataCrow.java:829) - Java version: 1.6.0-ga
 INFO [main] (DataCrow.java:830) - Java vendor: Sun Microsystems Inc.
 INFO [main] (DataCrow.java:831) - Operating System: OS/2


I have no idea what the ERROR line is about...

I have sent the log to the developer in the hope that he will have some idea of the cause of the problem.

As this app seems to run in Windows and *nix without problems - based on what I've read online rather than personal experience - I'm starting to suspect that something may not be implemented in our version of java6 that this app requires.


Regards

Pete


Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #169 on: 2012.01.06, 02:54:43 »
Hi All

Just to add that datacrow does *not* start in my WindowsXP installation - which is running in VirtualPC - and gives the same errors as when trying to start in an OS/2 environment.

Looks like datacrow contains the problem rather than java6...

Regards

Pete



ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #170 on: 2012.01.06, 12:38:09 »
I tried it last night and got as far as being able to select the language then it died on me with the following in popuplog:

01-06-2012  00:37:01  SYS3175  PID 00e4  TID 0004  Slot 00b8
C:\OPENJDK6-GA\BIN\JAVAW.EXE
c0000005
1d66cf61
P1=00000002  P2=05231000  P3=XXXXXXXX  P4=XXXXXXXX 
EAX=0522f221  EBX=0522f190  ECX=fffffee5  EDX=0522f3b0
ESI=05230ff8  EDI=05231000 
DS=0053  DSACC=f0f3  DSLIM=ffffffff 
ES=0053  ESACC=f0f3  ESLIM=ffffffff 
FS=2897  FSACC=00f3  FSLIM=00000fff
GS=0000  GSACC=****  GSLIM=********
CS:EIP=005b:1d66cf61  CSACC=f0df  CSLIM=ffffffff
SS:ESP=0053:0522f174  SSACC=f0f3  SSLIM=ffffffff
EBP=0522f5f8  FLG=00012206

LIBC063.DLL 0001:0005cf61

I Started it from a program object with the following:

Path and Filename: c:\openjdk6\bin\javaw.exe
Parameters: -Duser.home=h:\open\datacrow -Xmx256m -jar datacrow.jar
Working Dir: h:\open\datacrow

I don't know if this will help anyone.

ivan

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #171 on: 2012.01.06, 16:25:03 »
Hi All

I've finally got datacrow to the same stage as Martin - freezes immediately after starting.

I did this by downloading and installing the Installer version - I had been trying to run the Zipped version.

This seems to indicate that the contents of the 2 packages are more different than the Installer package simply has some extra bits to perform the installation.

The only response I've had from the datacrow guy to date does not leave me expecting to see this app running anytime in the future here.


Regards

Pete



miturbide

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • View Profile
    • OS2World
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #172 on: 2012.01.07, 04:00:18 »
Hi

Im running it as simple as possible with Java -jar datacrow.jar.

Here it is the log.

ERROR [main] (Setting.java:348) - An error occurred while converting [] to a valid settings value
java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: -1
   at java.lang.String.substring(String.java:1949)
   at net.datacrow.core.settings.Setting.setStringAsValue(Setting.java:277)
   at net.datacrow.core.settings.Settings.setString(Settings.java:194)
   at net.datacrow.core.settings.SettingsFile.load(SettingsFile.java:87)
   at net.datacrow.settings.Settings.load(Settings.java:53)
   at net.datacrow.settings.DcApplicationSettings.<init>(DcApplicationSettings.java:75)
   at net.datacrow.settings.DcSettings.<clinit>(DcSettings.java:51)
   at net.datacrow.core.DataCrow.main(DataCrow.java:245)


ERROR [AWT-EventQueue-0] (DcSwingUtilities.java:194) - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
   at net.datacrow.util.DcSwingUtilities.setRenderingHint(DcSwingUtilities.java:183)
   at net.datacrow.console.windows.DcFrame.paint(DcFrame.java:135)
   at javax.swing.JFrame.update(JFrame.java:469)
   at com.jtattoo.plaf.BaseRootPaneUI$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:226)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:647)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(EventQueue.java:96)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(EventQueue.java:608)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(EventQueue.java:606)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:105)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:617)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:275)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:200)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:190)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:185)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:177)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:138)

Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #173 on: 2012.01.07, 19:42:59 »
Hi All

@Martin

That looks the same as the log generated here after I installed the "installer" version and tried to run it.


@ivan

1] This app will not get past the language selection when using javaw.exe, it seems to require java.exe

2] You will only get the app to start and appear onscreen when you have installed using the Installer package - which indicates that the installer package contains something different to the standard zip package other than the installer related bits.


@All

As I said before I do not have much hope that whatever the problem is will be fixed by the developer - which is a shame as it looks like it could have been useful app.


Regards

Pete



miturbide

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • View Profile
    • OS2World
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #174 on: 2012.01.09, 17:03:48 »
I'm also trying FreePlane

"Freeplane is free and open source software to support thinking, sharing information and getting things done at work, in school and at home." (Open Source GNU GPL V2)
http://freeplane.sourceforge.net

I changed the .bat file to make it run, very quick and dirty to test if the app runs. It runs but It was a little bit unstable at first, it generated me the error on "hs_err_pid90.log". But the second time I run it seems more stable.

Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com

miturbide

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • View Profile
    • OS2World
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #175 on: 2012.02.06, 05:30:42 »
Here I'm trying a game called "Settlers of Catan"

http://sourceforge.net/projects/jsettlers2/

JSettlers2 is a web-based version of the board game Settlers of Catan written in Java. This client-server system supports multiple simultaneous games between people and/or AI bots. Replaces the old project (http://sourceforge.net/projects/jsettlers).

In my case I have a little display issue on the main window where the chat is supposed to be.
I still need to learn more about the game.

Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com

xchris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #176 on: 2012.02.08, 22:21:33 »
jAMOS ( AMOS BASIC reimplementation in Java ) runs very well too!

http://sourceforge.net/projects/javaamos/




miturbide

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • View Profile
    • OS2World
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #177 on: 2012.02.09, 05:48:07 »
I also tried TightVNC Java Viewer 2.1. (January 27, 2012)

"It's a fully-functional TightVNC remote control program written entirely in Java. Open Source GNU GPL"
http://www.tightvnc.com/download.php

The logon window to put the server name and port, does not looks right, but if you put the number there the software works to take control with VNC.
Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com

Blonde Guy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #178 on: 2012.02.09, 06:24:18 »
VNC has a client and a server. Is that just a client, or does it have a server, too? If it has both, did they both work with eCS? If not did you use PMVNC as the server? How well did transmitting control-escape work (that's a limitation of PMVNC)?

I use VNC a lot, and while our client and server aren't perfect, I'd like to see some more information on other products.
Expert Consulting for OS/2 and eComStation

miturbide

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • View Profile
    • OS2World
Re: Java for os2
« Reply #179 on: 2012.02.09, 14:54:33 »
HI Blonde Guy

TightVNC Java viewer is only the VNC client.

I had only tested it on eCS to take control over a machine that uses Windows and TightVNC server (native). I didn't tested it against a OS/2 host with PMVNC to see if it is compatible.
Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com