Author Topic: VLC player and Panorama  (Read 3169 times)

Blonde Guy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
VLC player and Panorama
« on: 2011.07.23, 01:31:24 »
I've always used SNAP and VLC player just works.

Now I've got a newer laptop and SNAP doesn't work, but Panorama does. Is there any way to run a movie player, preferably VLC?

My first search shows that Panorama and DIVE don't get along, which is probably why no movie player seems to work.
Expert Consulting for OS/2 and eComStation

miturbide

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • View Profile
    • OS2World
Re: VLC player and Panorama
« Reply #1 on: 2011.07.23, 16:56:07 »
Hi

You are right. I was not able to make VLC video to run (audio works) on the machine I have with Panorama installed.

None of the video modes are working. Which mode are you trying?
Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com

David McKenna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: VLC player and Panorama
« Reply #2 on: 2011.07.23, 18:21:47 »
Hmmm... no trouble using VLC or SMPlayer here with Panorama. In VLC under 'Tools'->'Preferences' under 'Audio' I have 'Output Module'= K Audio Interface, and 'Device'=DART. Under 'Video' I have 'Output'=K Video Acceleration and 'Video Mode'=DIVE. I also have 'Accelerated Video Output' turned off (no overlay with Panorama). Maybe these will work for you?


DougB

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: VLC player and Panorama
« Reply #3 on: 2011.07.23, 22:48:39 »
Quote
Maybe these will work for you?

Works for me, using Panorama on my Lenovo ThinkPad T510.

Blonde Guy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: VLC player and Panorama
« Reply #4 on: 2011.07.23, 23:15:54 »
Right. Audio works out of the box, Video does not.

Even though the limited docs say that DIVE doesn't work and Warp Overlay does, in fact

Video mode=DIVE
Output=Default

Does give video.

Output=K Video Acceleration

also works.

Video mode=Default

which is actually the default, doesn't work. In fact VLC just disappears when the movie is started.
Expert Consulting for OS/2 and eComStation