Author Topic: Aironet 350 driver...  (Read 2565 times)

xchris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Aironet 350 driver...
« on: 2011.10.27, 23:54:05 »
Hi guys,


I got an Aironet 350 card from a friend and I tried to use it withe the eCS 2.1 but in vain..
There is a driver for 350/340 at Hobbes but is for the 340 as I see.... Also I noticed there
an ftp site with this driver (on the old os2world forums) but that ftp site has nothing...
Any idea, please, where can I find the driver for this? As I see its supported under os/2
(is on the en.ecomstation.ru h/w list) but I simply cannot find that driver

Thank you in advance!

IBManners

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 Site
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #1 on: 2011.10.28, 05:24:46 »
Hi,

I had 2 Aironet 350 cards, they worked fine with the drivers in cisco340_350.zip from
http://www.os2site.com/sw/drivers/wireless/cisco340_350.zip

Cheers
Ian
I am the computer, it is me.

xchris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #2 on: 2011.10.28, 10:09:21 »
Hi,

Thank you! This works, as I can see the status led blinking, unfortunately I cannot
setup the DHCP on the card, the DHCP  is grayed out on the network settings... I may do
something wrong or the driver does not support DHCP?

thx

IBManners

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 Site
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #3 on: 2011.10.28, 13:09:04 »
Hi,

The driver shouldn't influence DHCP which is part of TCP/IP, so in effect is a layer (or 2) away from the card drivers. I will admit I've never used DHCP with them, as I normally setup everything here manually. The one
time I've used wireless and OS/2 with DHCP was with an external network, and the laptop had an Intel wireless
adapter in it.

What happens if you run   'dhcpstrt -d 0 -i lan0'   from the command prompt ?
Assuming your card is lan0

Cheers
Ian
I am the computer, it is me.

xchris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #4 on: 2011.10.28, 13:21:00 »
lan0 is the wired interface (thinkpad x24) , and the DHCP application shows this only...

IBManners

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
    • OS/2 Site
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #5 on: 2011.10.28, 14:53:02 »
ok, so DHCP is alive and well.

What interfaces are shown when you type this at the prompt "netstat -n | more" ?

Cheers
Ian
I am the computer, it is me.

abwillis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
    • View Profile
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #6 on: 2011.10.28, 18:25:33 »
DHCP is only available to one interface... if you have it enabled for Lan0 then Lan1 will have it disabled.  It is still possible to use DHCP but not from the TCPIP configuration.  I do not recall if xwlan works with the Cisco card or not... I seem to recall it does not but I haven't used my 340 in quite some time (not even sure if I know where to find it now that I think about it) so could be misremembering so might be worth a check.  Assuming you can't use xwlan then you will probably want to create some scripts to enable DHCP.
ifconfig lan0 down
ifconfig lan0 delete
dhcpmon -t
dhcpstrt -i lan1

Explanation of the above:
There can only be one DHCP so first remove the Lan0 then stop the dhcpmon daemon to allow the DHCP to be started on the second interface.

xchris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #7 on: 2011.10.29, 14:12:23 »
DHCP is only available to one interface... ....

oh yes.. to say the truth I totally forgot about this 'feature' of OS/2....
then I will set a static IP on the wireless and DHCP for wlan only...

thx !

Blonde Guy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #8 on: 2011.10.31, 22:04:58 »
xwlan works great with the Cisco card.
Expert Consulting for OS/2 and eComStation

abwillis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
    • View Profile
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #9 on: 2011.10.31, 22:14:08 »
xwlan works great with the Cisco card.
In that case, I definitely recommend using xwlan.
Andy

RobertM

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2034
    • View Profile
    • A.I.BuiltPC - using OS/2 Warp Server & eComStation for Custom Web and Database Solutions
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #10 on: 2011.11.02, 19:45:24 »
xwlan works great with the Cisco card.
In that case, I definitely recommend using xwlan.
Andy

Agreed. Even with one NIC (just the Aironet/Cisco), I couldn't get DHCP to work reliably (went the static IP route).
|
|
Kirk's 5 Year Mission Continues at:
Star Trek New Voyages
|
|


xchris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Aironet 350 driver...
« Reply #11 on: 2011.11.03, 22:24:37 »
sorry for the late reply to this thread (was a bit busy for some days....)

I installed today the xwlan .... works like charm (tested on a public wifi)!!!

 ***Thank you ALL for the help*** :-)

cheers!