• Welcome to OS2World OLD-STATIC-BACKUP Forum.

News:

This is an old OS2World backup forum for reference only. IT IS READ ONLY!!!

If you need help with OS/2 - eComStation visit http://www.os2world.com/forum

Main Menu

SNAP GAMODE on VirtualBox and 1366x768

Started by miturbide, 2012.03.25, 18:25:50

Previous topic - Next topic

miturbide

Hi

I decided to start again the fight to try to get higher resolution on eCS 2.1 guest on a VirtualBox VM.

• Host: Win 7 x64
  • Guest: eComStation 2.1 SMP (with SNAP installed)
  • VirtualBox: 4.1.10

My goal is to obtain a 1366x768 resolution on the eCS 2.1 VM.

I had tried from the Vbox command (from the host machine):
VBoxManage setextradata "<name of the VM>" CustomVideo1 "1366x768x32"

And later I started playing arround with GAMODE on the eCS 2.1 guest and the displays configuration, but I can not get a 1366x768.
I tried:
gamode add 1366 768 32
and I get:
Failed to add mode 1366 x 768 x 32!

Does anybody has more experience playing with SNAP gamode? Do you think I can get a 1366x768 resolution with the current SNAP driver?

Thanks.

Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide
Google Talk - martiniturbide@gmail.com

ivan

Martin,

Any restrictions will be in the vbox virtual driver not in the SNAP driver in eCS.

In a nutshell - if the virtual video driver doesn't support it, you are not going to get it.

ivan

miturbide

Hi Ivan
Quote from: ivan on 2012.03.25, 19:38:52
In a nutshell - if the virtual video driver doesn't support it, you are not going to get it.

uhm.. in that case, Windows running as a guest can use that 1366x768 resolution without issues. 

If it is not possible to obtain this resolution I still think that is a limitation of the SNAP video driver (or any OS/2 video driver) instead of the Virtual Machine video. ...but this is only my guess.
Martín Itúrbide
OS2World.com NewsMaster
Open Source Advocate

Skype - martiniturbide

ivan