Author Topic: LAN Driver not working  (Read 1332 times)

jdeb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
LAN Driver not working
« on: 2012.06.21, 15:14:14 »
I am putting together a file server with eCS 2.1. I am not getting a internet connection. Install went very smooth. Everything appears to be stable and responsive except for the LAN. The default driver for the install is an Intel Pro1000 Mac driver. The system specs are as follows...

Motherboard: Super Micro X8SIL-O with 2x IntelĀ® 82574L Gigabit Ethernet Controllers on-board.
http://www.supermicro.com/xeon_3400/Motherboard/X8SIL.cfm?IPMI=N
 
RAM: 4GB (2x2) Crucial DDR3-1333 ECC CT25672BA1339
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148400&Tpk=CT25672BA1339

CPU: Intel Pentium G6950
http://ark.intel.com/products/43230/Intel-Pentium-Processor-G6950-(3M-Cache-2_80-GHz)

Should I be using a different LAN Driver?

Thanks in advance.  :)
 
« Last Edit: 2012.06.21, 15:19:16 by jdeb »
Foxconn P41A-P, Intel E7500, 2 GB DDR2 800, ATI X300, ADATA Sata II 64 GB SSD, 160GB WD Sata II HD, Intel Pro 100/1000, Antec Basiq 350W PS, Antec 300 Case, ECS 2.1

DougB

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: LAN Driver not working
« Reply #1 on: 2012.06.21, 15:53:57 »
You probably need the new one from the Software Subscription Betazone.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: LAN Driver not working
« Reply #2 on: 2012.06.21, 15:57:43 »
A couple of things.

First, does LANTRAN.LOG show the two instances of the E1000 driver as loaded?

Second, have you given each instance of the driver a separate 'Slot/Device Identifier'?

I have a couple of older SuperMicro servers (X6 series SMP) with two intel 82541 Gigabit controllers that work without any problems at all.

ivan

jdeb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: LAN Driver not working
« Reply #3 on: 2012.06.22, 19:07:11 »
Thanks for the replies.

The new drivers did not solve the issue.

I ran out of time last night to check LANTRAN.LOG.

Quote
Second, have you given each instance of the driver a separate 'Slot/Device Identifier'?

How might that be done? I guess I can check the help file. Is that done through the hardware manager?
Foxconn P41A-P, Intel E7500, 2 GB DDR2 800, ATI X300, ADATA Sata II 64 GB SSD, 160GB WD Sata II HD, Intel Pro 100/1000, Antec Basiq 350W PS, Antec 300 Case, ECS 2.1

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: LAN Driver not working
« Reply #4 on: 2012.06.22, 20:56:14 »
You use MPTS.

Open MPTS Network Adapters & Protocol Services and select the first adapter (adapter-select.jpg).  Then select edit and a list of the parameters will open and you can make the necessary changes (adapter-edit-parameters.jpg).

Do this for the second adapter.

Also make sure that you aren't trying to bind the same TCPIP protocols to both adapters - at least I think it is TCPIP going on memory.  You should also note which adapter TCPIP is attached to and use that port to connect to the internet.  I don't have that problem here as everything goes through a 48 port managed switch.

ivan

jdeb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: LAN Driver not working
« Reply #5 on: 2012.06.23, 15:58:56 »
Thanks Ivan and Doug. Found it  ;D. That was exactly what I was looking for. Soon as I typed mpts I was good to go. They needed to be configured.

I feel like an idiot, eventually I found it was right under hardware manager  :-[. I have become so accustomed to other OS's that the simplicity of eCS alludes me somewhat. I am not used to an OS doing what I tell it to do.  I have so much to catch up on and learn from my Warp days. Too big of a lapse between IBM dropping OS/2 and eCS.

Foxconn P41A-P, Intel E7500, 2 GB DDR2 800, ATI X300, ADATA Sata II 64 GB SSD, 160GB WD Sata II HD, Intel Pro 100/1000, Antec Basiq 350W PS, Antec 300 Case, ECS 2.1

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: LAN Driver not working
« Reply #6 on: 2012.06.23, 22:36:47 »
I'm pleased you are up and running.

The thing you must remember with OS/2 eCS is that YOU are in charge not some company.

ivan