Author Topic: ACPI version 3.20.03 released  (Read 4548 times)

Andi710

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« on: 2012.06.24, 09:08:08 »
http://www.os2world.com/content/view/21818/2/
Quote
Posted by Martin Iturbide - Saturday, 23 June 2012


I have jus. .. .

Runs well here on a Phenom II X6. However, with SNAP video enabling 4 cores is still the limit. (6 cores only work with plain VGA, SNAP hangs at WPS boot-up)

And the reactor temperature widget for XCenter does not show anything except of "Zzz".
Does anybody have a working version that can show system/CPU temperature as measured using ACPI?

Cheers
Andreas

melf

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #1 on: 2012.06.24, 10:33:22 »
Hi Andy,
this version has much better power reduction on my system (Thinkpad T43-2668). Previous version didn't really work, while this version keep my temperature at about 55C (which is good). However resume results in a system freeze, so I have reverted back to 3.19.14 (where I got working suspend-resume) combined with DougB:s coolman, which does the power reduction work as well on this Thinkpad. I can't notice no effect of the idle time HLT, however I don't know what to look for.

When I started up my system after install of acpi 3.20.03 the config-file (in MPTN/ETC) was blank and the GUI consequently didn't work. However the temp was around 55C even then, which make me wonder if this in fact was an effect of the idle time HLT? Enabling the power management (copy conf template on acpiD.cfg and enabling) in fact didn't seem to add anything.
« Last Edit: 2012.06.24, 11:01:49 by melf »
/Mikael

Blonde Guy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #2 on: 2012.06.24, 17:05:31 »
Melf, that T43 would run cooler and suspend/resume would work better with APM than with ACPI.

My T60p runs cooler with 3.20.03 than it did with 3.20.02.

My X60 may run a bit cooler with 3.20.03, but the hangs on desktop start. These hangs it has always had on boot-up are worse with 3.20.03. I never had a hang with 3.20.02, which is great because it's the only ACPI thus far that didn't hang. Hangs are particularly bad for X60 because it then does a high temperature shutdown. For X60, it would be great if ACPI would run the machine cooler during the processing of config.sys.

I have heard that hangs on desktop start go back many years on many machines and that ACPI may only be involved by changing the timing.

The reactor widget works with both machines.
Expert Consulting for OS/2 and eComStation

DougB

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #3 on: 2012.06.24, 17:31:27 »
Quote
Does anybody have a working version that can show system/CPU temperature as measured using ACPI?

That works, for me, by RMB on the widget, select properties (NOT the eCenter properties), then select motherboard = Asus P5B. I suspect that that may be required on many AMD systems.

Quote
this version has much better power reduction on my system (Thinkpad T43-2668)

I haven't got around to trying it on my T43 (1871-W8M) yet, but it does much better on my Asus M3A78-EM, with quad core Phenom processor. It is also better on my Lenovo ThinkPad T510, which, contrary to instructions, I run with hyperthreading enabled (2 cores look like 4). I have had NO TROUBLE with that. I don't think it does much for eCS, but it sure helps Win7, and I don't have to mess around in the BIOS to change it.

Quote
combined with DougB:s coolman, which does the power reduction work as well on this Thinkpad

My COOLMAN program uses the SETGETSTATE program to slow the clock, which seems to do more than throttling on single processor machines, where it will work. From what I can tell, the new power manager does not use the clock slowing mechanism, and throttling doesn't work well on every machine either. My Asus M3A78-EM motherboard has a problem where it won't reboot if it is left throttled while a reboot is attempted (usually after a crash). Sometimes, it needs to be rest by "pulling the plug" for a couple of minutes, to get it to go again. Setting the min throttle settings to 100% (all of them) seems to work around that problem, and the new ACPI still drops the temperature, significantly (I assume that it is HLT that does part of that, but it is mostly turning off unneeded processors that makes the big difference on SMP machines).

Melf. You may want to play with COOLMAN to disable the throttling section, and just let it use the SETGETSTATE part, then use it with the new ACPI. I will try that on my T43, when I find the time (probably this morning).

DougB

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #4 on: 2012.06.24, 17:38:12 »
Quote
Melf, that T43 would run cooler and suspend/resume would work better with APM than with ACPI.

I don't know about Melf's machine, but I do know that my T43 (1871-W8M) won't work, at all, with APM (won't even power off). The support code is just not in the BIOS.

melf

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #5 on: 2012.06.24, 18:48:57 »
Doug: Sounds like a good idea to run Coolman, without throttling together with the new ACPI, ought to reduce power use even more. The bad side for me is that I use suspend/resume quite often, when pausing work, so 3.19.14 is the best option for me - so far.

Blond Guy: I used APM on my (2669) and I think this machine (2668) should work with APM as well. When I used APM latest it worked OK, but adding and enabling the "throttle-package" made it freeze of some reason. Also I get a better distribution of irq:s with ACPI - although I don't know how important that is.
/Mikael

DougB

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #6 on: 2012.06.24, 19:46:42 »
Quote
Doug: Sounds like a good idea to run Coolman, without throttling together with the new ACPI, ought to reduce power use even more.

It does. I don't remember which version I sent you (I made a lot of changes after that, trying to get my Lenovo ThinkPad T510 to play nicely). If it has the option to set the minimum throttle, just set that to 100, and it won't play with throttling (except when it first starts up).

FWIW, on my T43 (1871-W8M), with no power control, it runs at about 69C. With ACPI 3.20.03, and throttling enabled, it runs near 54C. If I slow the clock to level 3 (using the SETGETSTATE command), it runs at about 44C. Of course, battery life is extended too.

I think that the basic S/R is working with my T43, but it is difficult to tell, because a resume never turns on the screen backlight, and that makes it difficult to tell if it really came back to life, or not. The T510 appears to do the suspend okay, but I am pretty sure that resume never completes. It also does not turn on the screen backlight.

StefanZ

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • My preferred nemesys...
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #7 on: 2012.06.27, 18:33:27 »
Wow!

Power-off works now!!!  :D

Sigurd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #8 on: 2012.06.29, 23:05:37 »
Works really great with my fanless minipc! Power off works, and HLT as well.

See picture one, application pm123 just started , all four kernel (2 kernel + 2 hyperthreading - the readme suggest to disable hyperthreading but I am still testing :-) )  working


See picture two - a few seconds later three kernel are halted as one kernel is enough by far :-)

I started then open office and the other three kernel are back in business - really great!

And the fanless pc is still not hot :-)


Some additional information for the mini pc:
- still problems with IRQ, wlan minipcie crashes...
- Super Dolby surround Sound with Uniaud
- still problems with USB, drivers are not able to switch off USB legacy mode
- but still a lot of fun :-)
« Last Edit: 2012.06.29, 23:10:35 by Sigurd »

rwklein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #9 on: 2012.06.30, 17:36:45 »

See picture one, application pm123 just started , all four kernel (2 kernel + 2 hyperthreading - the readme suggest to disable hyperthreading but I am still testing :-) )  working


Some additional information for the mini pc:
- still problems with IRQ, wlan minipcie crashes...
- Super Dolby surround Sound with Uniaud
- still problems with USB, drivers are not able to switch off USB legacy mode
- but still a lot of fun :-)

About hyperthreading. There are bugs open in the eComStation bugtracker where a system would trap during startup with hyperthreading switched on.

About the MINI PCI stuff. I don't know if you have had time to open a bug for this. Or if this crash is caused by loading an unsupported genmac driver (don't know the details).

Roderick Klein
Mensys

rwklein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #10 on: 2012.06.30, 17:41:44 »
http://www.os2world.com/content/view/21818/2/
Quote
Posted by Martin Iturbide - Saturday, 23 June 2012


I have jus. .. .

Runs well here on a Phenom II X6. However, with SNAP video enabling 4 cores is still the limit. (6 cores only work with plain VGA, SNAP hangs at WPS boot-up)

And the reactor temperature widget for XCenter does not show anything except of "Zzz".
Does anybody have a working version that can show system/CPU temperature as measured using ACPI?

Cheers
Andreas

So what happens if you run with Panorama do the 6 cores work ? If that works then we know SNAP has an SMP defect!
We have somebody working on SNAP at the moment. Based on your report I opened a ticket:

http://svn.ecomstation.nl/snap/ticket/21

Regards,

Roderick Klein
Mensys

rwklein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #11 on: 2012.06.30, 18:09:27 »
While suspend resume we don't support officially its still being worked and moving forward.
More and more systems are starting to work and 3.20.03 version has a new Intel ACPI code in the PSD that has fixes for suspend resume for none Windows systems (if I understood David his explanation correctly).

While I see that Melf his system does not suspend resume correctly anymore with the current version the suspend/resume is a very complex procedure. But as we do have (as far as it now seems) a good working HLT support that seems to be working on a lot of systems!

The SMP kernel never supported this. We have in the test lab also other systems see other work much better with suspend resume then ever before. While not ready for production usage never have so many systems worked with suspend resume.

To give you an idea of how systems are working now. System that never would even go to sleep now suspend and then resume and you can access the system via the kernel debugger (via the serial cable).  But things go wrong in restoring the video buffer.
Thats why with testing suspend/resume try the /VBE switch.

As time will move forward more progress is being made that will only see the success rate of suspend/resume go up.
We will never have the coverage that Windows has. But that is not that weird in it self.  Suspend resume from my point of view is screwed standard. With that I mean that a standard OEM install of a Windows 7 CD will also not work on all systems.
As most hardware vendors preload drivers for there own equipment.

So right now suspend resume is officialy not supported as more stuff is being debugged. But progress is being made.

Hope the new ACPI versions will help keep your systems cool and reduce your electricity bill :-)

Roderick Klein
Mensys

Andi710

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #12 on: 2012.07.05, 22:48:42 »
Runs well here on a Phenom II X6. However, with SNAP video enabling 4 cores is still the limit. (6 cores only work with plain VGA, SNAP hangs at WPS boot-up)


So what happens if you run with Panorama do the 6 cores work ? If that works then we know SNAP has an SMP defect!
We have somebody working on SNAP at the moment. Based on your report I opened a ticket:

http://svn.ecomstation.nl/snap/ticket/21

Roderick Klein
Mensys

Indeed, the 6 cores run fine with plain VGA. I did not try panorama though. However, I need SNAP to power my two LCDs with a large WPS...
Also, video performance with multiple cores enabled is not great.

Will comment on the SNAP ticket
Cheers
Andreas

Blonde Guy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #13 on: 2012.07.06, 04:51:17 »
Doug: Sounds like a good idea to run Coolman, without throttling together with the new ACPI, ought to reduce power use even more. The bad side for me is that I use suspend/resume quite often, when pausing work, so 3.19.14 is the best option for me - so far.

Blond Guy: I used APM on my (2669) and I think this machine (2668) should work with APM as well. When I used APM latest it worked OK, but adding and enabling the "throttle-package" made it freeze of some reason. Also I get a better distribution of irq:s with ACPI - although I don't know how important that is.

Doug's machine isn't supported by APM -- he should use ACPI. The T43 2xxx is supported by APM, and that's what makes those machines special. But at this point ACPI is so good that it could be a possibility, too. You can't really use throttling with non-ACPI systems.
Expert Consulting for OS/2 and eComStation

Andi710

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: ACPI version 3.20.03 released
« Reply #14 on: 2012.07.08, 11:20:09 »
And the reactor temperature widget for XCenter does not show anything except of "Zzz".
Does anybody have a working version that can show system/CPU temperature as measured using ACPI?

Roderick: Should I open a ticket requesting support for my board's temperature sensors through ACPI?