Author Topic: Rpm software for testing  (Read 978 times)

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Rpm software for testing
« on: September 23, 2018, 02:58:11 pm »
Hi all,
I made some rpm packages from all ready ported  and some new software...
But i din't test them if they working like it should.
So look @ https://tellie.stackstorage.com/s/8R8pF7hZ9fHPZhI and see...
If there are probs or any other .... please let me know, 

Ps, so far only for I686 and some noarch
« Last Edit: September 23, 2018, 03:01:07 pm by TeLLie »

David McKenna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Rpm software for testing
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2018, 05:10:08 pm »
Hi Tellie,

  Is the idea here to add the listed URL to the list of repositories in ANPM, then install from there? If so, I can't get it to work - get an error: 'Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository'.

Regards,

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Rpm software for testing
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2018, 06:23:39 pm »
Hi David,
You can download the rpm's and use a local repo like it's mention here:

http://trac.netlabs.org/rpm/wiki/RpmHowToEndUsers#LocalRPMrepository


Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 146
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
Re: Rpm software for testing
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2018, 06:39:21 pm »
I downloaded the zip by clicking on the "Download Map" button and added them to my local repository. They installed fine after complaining about duplicates in @UNIXROOT/usr/local/lib and my moving the duplicates out of the way.
I notice a lack of static libraries but that is OK. I'll test them later.
Thanks, this has been on my to do list for a while.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 146
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
Re: Rpm software for testing
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2018, 07:13:54 am »
I did some transcoding with a FFmpeg that I had previously built and linked against some of the same DLLs that I built. Seemed to work fine.

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Rpm software for testing
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2018, 07:27:07 pm »
Hi Dave,
Thankz for testing some off the stuff...

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 561
    • View Profile
Re: Rpm software for testing
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2018, 03:13:11 am »
I downloaded the zip by clicking on the "Download Map" button and added them to my local repository...

I thought this was a great idea, was thinking of doing something like this myself for a while (meaning that I wanted to setup a LOCAL repo). So I followed the instructions, all went well, but simply dropping a RPM into that target directory does nothing...because attempting to list the contents of the said directory does not show the file.

Clearly I'm missing a step that creates the metadata to show what's in the repo...and on-line searches just lead me to re-running the "createrepo" command, which doesn't seem to update the list.

Do you do this Dave?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 146
  • Posts: 2077
    • View Profile
Re: Rpm software for testing
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2018, 04:10:19 am »
I have a local repository at k:\rpm.local with a subdirectory 00 and under it more sub-directories, i386, i686, noarch and src where I put the relevant RPM's and have a small cmd file under k:\rpm.local called createrepo.cmd consisting of
Code: [Select]
sh -c "createrepo -d  k:/rpm.local"that I run whenever I add RPM's. It has always worked fine here and during my dial up days I used wget to download the RPM's from Netlabs.
I also, under @UNIXROOT/etc/yum/repos.d have a file, LOCAL.REPO with
Code: [Select]
[local]
name=My local repo
baseurl=file:k%3A/rpm.local
enabled=1

Note the above syntax may be wrong but works here.

Silvan Scherrer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: Rpm software for testing
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2018, 11:20:29 am »
I have a local repository at k:\rpm.local with a subdirectory 00 and under it more sub-directories, i386, i686, noarch and src where I put the relevant RPM's and have a small cmd file under k:\rpm.local called createrepo.cmd consisting of
Code: [Select]
sh -c "createrepo -d  k:/rpm.local"that I run whenever I add RPM's. It has always worked fine here and during my dial up days I used wget to download the RPM's from Netlabs.
I also, under @UNIXROOT/etc/yum/repos.d have a file, LOCAL.REPO with
Code: [Select]
[local]
name=My local repo
baseurl=file:k%3A/rpm.local
enabled=1

Note the above syntax may be wrong but works here.
Dave the above syntax is not wrong, but old fashioned :)
With later python you can use the syntax like written in the wiki, which is a bit cleaner.

regards
Silvan
kind regards
Silvan
CTO bww bitwise works GmbH

Please help us with donations, so we can further work on OS/2 based projects. Our Shop is at https://www.bitwiseworks.com/shop/index.php