Author Topic: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version  (Read 25904 times)

Valery Sedletski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #195 on: February 07, 2020, 05:14:26 pm »
2Lars: So, looks  like your problems is your VM's specifics. Is your VM big? Could you upload it somewhere? (e.g., to my ftp)? Maybe,
this will allow me to reproduce your errors on my machine.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 524
  • -Receive: 103
  • Posts: 2834
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #196 on: March 24, 2020, 03:59:43 am »
Hi Valery.
Do you have control over the attached picture?

Do you think there can be way a to include a "Don't ask me again" checkbox to disable this warning?
I also do not get the difference between the "no" and "cancel" buttons. Is there any difference of these two actions?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Valery Sedletski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #197 on: March 28, 2020, 08:18:30 am »
2Martin: No, IFS has no control over any checkboxes. No idea yet, why WPS complains about EA's. Maybe, I just need to return proper
null EA's. At the moment, they are invalid. WPS accepts them when displaying a drive contents. But if you open a settings notebook of
a drive, you'll see that some tabs are missing (like File one). So, something seems to be wrong with EA's. For the same reason, it could
complain about EA's when copying. So, maybe, if I'll fix EA's, everything will be repaired. Need to try.

FelixG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #198 on: April 06, 2020, 05:22:53 pm »
The version included in Virtualbox 6.1.4 works with WPS, if the changes requested in the ticket 19453 are made:

https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/19453

Regards

Valery Sedletski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #199 on: April 09, 2020, 12:59:53 pm »
2FelixG: The Oracle version is different from ours, so it is of no help here. Though, good to know that you've repaired it. My congratulations!
Does all required tabs present in file properties notebooks (like "File" tab)? VBoxFS.ifs does not show it, currently.

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 623
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #200 on: April 09, 2020, 01:02:49 pm »
The version included in Virtualbox 6.1.4 works with WPS, if the changes requested in the ticket 19453 are made:

https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/19453

Regards

Felix, can you provide a test version with your fixes that I could try?

FelixG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #201 on: April 10, 2020, 06:37:56 pm »
Yes, I know it is a different version, but since you have similar problems, you can use it as a comparison.

Regarding the file properties tabs I think they work correctly.

I attach the modified file using assembler. Unfortunately I am not able to compile the programs so it is an equivalent version, but not the same.

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 623
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #202 on: April 10, 2020, 10:00:25 pm »
Great stuff, yes that fixes the WPS problems with the VBOX IFS driver !
Thanks, Lars

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 524
  • -Receive: 103
  • Posts: 2834
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #203 on: April 24, 2020, 11:55:57 pm »
Hi Valery

Suddenly today when ArcaOS boot is get stucks on boot when it runs the CMD.EXE. If I modify the config.sys or go one by one and not load vboxservice.exe it will boot.

It seems that the only change I made was a reorg of the config.sys and moved "run=C:\os2\VBoxService.exe" from the last part of the config.sys to the attached one.

I don't know if you experience something similar. For the moment I had reset back my config.sys to the previously version and solved my issue.

Regards
« Last Edit: April 25, 2020, 12:13:50 am by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Valery Sedletski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 357
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Shared folders IFS for VBox Additions, the test version
« Reply #204 on: April 26, 2020, 06:54:20 pm »
2Martin: Do you have llaecs.exe in mptstart.cmd? (or how it's called in ArcaOS, I don't know) If yes, please rem it out.
It can cause problems if VBoxService.exe is started via run=... statement in config.sys, and in some other cases. Or,
you can move VBoxService.exe to startup.cmd. This is a known problem of llaecs.exe. It interferes with PM programs
started from config.sys from run=... statement. Such programs are paused to load until PM is started. Otherwise, OS/2
may hang when a program tries to call PM API's. But llaecs.exe causes a glitch, so it seems, a PM program is not
paused loading until PM is started. So, better avoid to use llaecs.exe. It causes a lot of trouble.

PS: DId you read README? This problem is described there.

PPS: I looked into llaecs.exe, it's imported modules table contains pmshapi.dll. So, it is a PM program too. Maybe, the problem is because
it is started from a .CMD file, not directly as run=... so maybe, the problem should be fixed, if you move it to config.sys as a run=...
« Last Edit: April 26, 2020, 07:07:11 pm by Valery Sedletski »