Author Topic: T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk  (Read 268 times)

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk
« on: October 12, 2019, 06:16:22 pm »
Anyone successfully installed ArcaOS or OS/2 on a T540p?

Trying install ArcaOS from USB Stick leads to a reboot after selecting 'Booting with default values'.

When putting in another harddisk with preinstalled eCS and ArcaOS on different partitions I always get 'OS/2 in unable to operate your hard disk'. Any hints to get this Thinkpad running?

I've disabled Hyperthreading and USB3 in BIOS. I also enabled Legacy boot. What else?

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 36
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2019, 07:38:16 pm »
Hi Andi

No experience with a T540p but suggest you try using "boot with own values..." instead of using the defaults and check any install information about installing from USB drive.

Is there a "Compatibility" setting in the EUFI BIOS setup? - needs to be on.


Regards

Pete

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1000
    • View Profile
Re: T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2019, 08:48:26 pm »
Looking at the T540P specs I think you are going to have a problem without USB 3/3.1 drivers unless there is some way in the UEFI bios to change the USB ports to USB 2 without using the USB 3/3.1 hardware.  If you can't do that then you need to pull the hard disk and clone a ArcaOS install from a machine that has USB 2 ports.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2019, 09:04:04 pm »
Hello
You can install the airboot 114 and then try, with the installation.
If that fails you can download from the Dfsee, a FREEDOS with dfsee by usb.


Moritz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2019, 09:26:52 pm »
Hi Andi,

i recently had an issue where the AHCI controller was not properly supported and HDD was not recognized. Changing controller mode in BIOS from "AHCI" to "Compatible" solved this.

Regards

Mo

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 393
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 2377
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2019, 10:34:05 pm »
Hi

Here are the Blond Guy's report about the T540p. It may help.
http://www.blondeguy.com/computer/strobopeep.html

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 31
  • Posts: 460
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2019, 03:15:29 am »
Please read the web page that Martin quoted above.

The T540p is an excellent choice for ArcaOS. But follow the advice in the article. Set the BIOS the way it says. And if you have a T540p with NVidia video, trade it in for one with Intel video.

Alternatively, just buy my T540p. :)
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
Re: T540p - OS/2 is unable to operate your hard disk
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2019, 09:54:47 am »
Thanks for all the replies. I've to work it through.

I try different things in parallel - adding ArcaOS to the installed SSD while preserving the W10 installation. And preparing a spare SSD with OS/2 - ArcaOS only at the same time. This spare SSD is dedicated to a new server I build but I'm testing it in the T540p too.

Neil, I don't know which video card is installed. But it is equipped with a 3k display. I never ever will buy anything below 1920x1200. HD resolution only, no chance ;-) Usually I can't work with less then 3840x1200 but our multi monitor setups are very limited :-( No clue if I ever get this 2880x1620 resolution working with OS/2. But I got this T540p for 385€ including the docking station and a second power supply. So I can't resist buying it.