Author Topic: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504  (Read 1242 times)

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« on: January 03, 2020, 10:02:32 pm »
Hi,

Before opening a ticket I'd like to know if anyone knows what could cause trap 0008. First phase installs ok on this
ThinkStation 520, after the reboot some drivers are being loaded and all of sudden it stops and produces the attached trap screen.


Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 195
  • Posts: 2714
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2020, 10:05:53 pm »
A trap 8 is a double trap, a trap that occurs while processing a trap. I'd suggest stepping through the config.sys to see which driver is crashing.

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2020, 02:33:39 am »
Tried to install again in order to get the "install_abend.zip" just to see if that file could give an idea of what's going wrong.
Don't know why but this time the installation finished phase 1 and 2 and I got the trap 0008 on the third reboot. No "install_abend.zip" was produced so I've opened a ticket at Arca which includes the "install_yyyymmdd.zip".

Roderick Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 23
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2020, 03:03:49 pm »
Hi,

Before opening a ticket I'd like to know if anyone knows what could cause trap 0008. First phase installs ok on this
ThinkStation 520, after the reboot some drivers are being loaded and all of sudden it stops and produces the attached trap screen.

Well you must have been OS/2 long enough to know some of the standard secrets of the trade to perform some basic analyses.

1. I hyperthreading turned out off ?
After the last installation phase the switch /MAXCPU=1 is removed from the ACPI=PSD line in the config.sys.
On some systems this can cause a TRAP if hyperthreading is switched on. You can switch that off in the BIOS. e

2.  If the TRAP still persists when ArcaOS, when the little OS/2 blob in shown the left hand, before the boot logo, press the key combination ALT F4 and step by step by can try and find out when during the boot ArcaOS crashes.

Roderick Klein

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2020, 05:17:04 pm »
Irrelevant, but yes, I've been using OS/2 long enough to know some of the "standard secrets".

Hyperthreading is off, and ALT F4 immediately results in:
---
The system detected an internal processing error at
location ##0158:a278 - 000e:a278.
60004, 6009
---

The BIOS is set to "compatible", however there could of course be something I've overlooked.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 195
  • Posts: 2714
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2020, 05:41:08 pm »
Look at https://www.arcanoae.com/wiki/acpi/requirements/ towards the bottom of the page, the section named "Internal Processing Errors reported by the kernel" and you'll see that kernel error “60004, 6009” means ACPI is unhappy with your system.
The page is worth reading and the first thing you should probably do is limit the CPU count to one and see if booting finishes and you can collect a testlog.

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2020, 12:38:53 am »
Thanks, Dave, lots of interesting info there. Still I've not been able to boot the system, so no testlog yet.
Tried limiting CPU count to 1 but that did not make a difference.
Anyone familiar with the BIOS on newer Lenovo systems and knows if there is some settings, in addition to "compatible" and disabling hyperthreading, that should be changed?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 195
  • Posts: 2714
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2020, 01:22:46 am »
Does it crash the same way if you choose manage system when it first boots?

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2020, 10:51:41 pm »
Have not tried the manage system option since I already did a new install "Modern hardware, no ACPI" and that works fine.
Did attach a log to the ticket I placed at AN and hopefully that will help in enabling ACPI on this system.

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2020, 02:29:17 am »
Does it crash the same way if you choose manage system when it first boots?

Yes, it displays the Arco-logo for a couple of seconds and then I get the trap 0008.

Per E. Johannessen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trap 0008 installing ArcaOS 504
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2020, 05:18:03 pm »
Solution, for now, is to boot from DVD after phase 2 is finished, copy pcibus.snp from ramdrive (z:) to \os2\boot.
Got this info from AN and they are working on a fix.