Author Topic: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2  (Read 2527 times)

Devid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Has anyone managed to install arcaos on a guest virtual machine with virtualbox os / 2 host version 5.0.51?
vbox-os2-i386-v5.0.51.zip downloaded from ecsoft2.org.
I have tried all possible combinations in the system settings of virtualbox but immediately after starting it crashes.
Log attached.

D.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3698
  • Karma: +78/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2020, 05:41:08 pm »
Hi David, OS/2, including ArcaOS, won't run on a OS/2 hosted VBox due to no virtualized hardware support in our kernel, which is required to run OS/2 in VBox.

Devid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2020, 06:12:08 pm »
And bochs could be a solution?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3698
  • Karma: +78/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2020, 07:37:33 pm »
A very slow solution if you can find a port that works. Better is VirtualPC, there's a binary here, https://winworldpc.com/product/virtual-pc/5x though if I remember right, it had a SMP problem. There was a patched version floating around. Anyways worth trying.

David McKenna

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2020, 12:45:18 am »
 It works here only if using the OS/4 kernel on the host. http://www.gus.biysk.ru/os4/

Regards,

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2020, 02:12:54 am »
So far I have been unable to get any version of VirtualBox host to run on my Ryzen based OS/2 or ArcaOS boxes.  They start but when I try to do anything they just produce a red switch hang.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1137
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2020, 03:47:51 pm »
Hi ivan

I have this line in config.sys which may be relevant

REM ***** Next line required due to lbcx update versions causing problems with VirtualBox
SET LIBCX_HIGHMEM=2


Regards

Pete

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2020, 05:57:00 pm »
Hi ivan

I have this line in config.sys which may be relevant

REM ***** Next line required due to lbcx update versions causing problems with VirtualBox
SET LIBCX_HIGHMEM=2


Regards

Pete

Hi pete,
I have "SET LIBCX_HIGHMEM=2" in my config.sys but most time the virtual machnes will not start. With OS4 kernel I can run any version of OS/2 (2.0 , 2.1, 3.0, 4.0 and ArcaOS); windows xp  and windows 7; most linuxes are working too; I have to use 32bit linux versions; I write this answer in falkon browser on Arch32 Linux - this is my "browser in a box" vm on ArcaOS. Sometimes I get it starting after several tries with ArcaOS (IBM) kernel but mostly I am using the OS4 kernel (because of the vt-x extension).
best regards
Bernhard

Devid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2020, 10:51:32 pm »
Thanks everyone for the answers. My aim is to install the nationalized version to check the correctness of my work and possibly make screenshots. For the moment I have installed a version of virtualpc that works without SMP. Unfortunately it doesn't allow me to take screenshots, but at least it works. As soon as I find some time I will also try with OS / 4.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2020, 08:09:51 am by Devid »

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2020, 08:28:28 am »
Hi Devid,

You should be able to get screen shots by using Gotcha2, it will take a screen shot of whatever is on the desktop.

Devid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install ArcaOS 5.0.5 guest in VirtualBox v. 5.0.51 host for OS/2
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2020, 06:44:37 pm »
Hi Devid,

You should be able to get screen shots by using Gotcha2, it will take a screen shot of whatever is on the desktop.

I have already tried both gotcha and pmview. In both cases, in the screenshot, the area of the screen where VirtualPC is displayed is presented with the background image of the desktop. (See attached).

D.