Author Topic: configure the D-Link DIR-506L wireless access point- SOLVED  (Read 8168 times)

Rich442

  • Guest
configure the D-Link DIR-506L wireless access point- SOLVED
« on: April 01, 2016, 06:03:10 pm »
I am trying to use a D-Link DIR 506L "Shareport Go Mobile companion" wireless access point to connect to a fairly standard wireless network. I don't know the steps to accomplish this because I just bought the thing and have never connected wireless on my OS/2 4.5 machine. Now, I am using ecomstation 2.1 and I just don't know where to start. I am not very good at DOS. I included a bunch of information from my Hardware manager listing in System settings below.

How can I configure the shareport go mobile to work with my machine's ethernet port and connect to my wireless network? I am using the GenMac driver wrapper and the xwlan wireless app. I am using ecomstation 2.1

In my home network, I have a wireless network with with five computers running Windows 10. I  also have 1 IBM workstation running eComStation 2.1. My network only requires that I give it my network ID and my WPA2 security key.

I connected a D-Link DIR 506L ("Shareport Go Mobile companion") to the ethernet port on the IBM workstation (and the other end to the 506L's ethernet plug) in hopes of connecting to my wireless network at home. eComstation's installation identifies the device as an "unsupported device" and then installs the GenMac Wrapper 2.2.

I don't know if the 506L counts as a wireless adapter or an ethernet connection (since I connect it to my computer's ethernet port. I don't know which internet connection app is the correct one to use

During boot
The device is listed in the hardware manager as "unsupported device" on IRQ 5.

Under I/O, it shows
0x4000401F address lines: 16 EXC

Under memory, it lists two values:

0xD008000-0xD009FFFF EXC
0xD008000-0xD007FFFF EXC

I think that my machine is acknowledging that the device is there ( and the d-link 506L does detect my local network)

How can I configure the shareport go mobile to work with my machine's ethernet port and connect to my wireless network?
Thank you for all responses. :)
« Last Edit: April 05, 2016, 04:17:45 pm by Richard Crowley »

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 1207
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2016, 12:58:34 am »
I have one of them. It is a GREAT device. The biggest "PROBLEM" is that the ethernet port only runs at 100 Mbs while the wireless will work at 300 Mbs (or perhaps even faster).

There is a trick to making it work as you want to. It must be used in Repeater mode, and it is a bit of a pain to get it running using OS/2 unless it happens to get the same IP range that you have the computer set for (You can't log into it). I usually do it with windows (to save a lot of messing around). Once it is connected, you can reboot to OS/2 and it will work, as long as your wired NIC will work (no special setup required). It looks to OS/2 as a wired network connection.

If I remember correctly, when you log in to the DIR-506L, it goes to the setup wizard were you select the mode (Repeater), then it asks for the access point (or router) to attach to. Then (the confusing part), it wants a device name, and configuration (including password) for other devices to log into the DIR-506L (other wireless devices can use it as a router). After a DIR-506L restart you need to ask for a DHCP renewal (or reboot) to get OS/2 to ask for an IP address.

Some experimenting may be required.

Rich442

  • Guest
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2016, 03:55:06 pm »
I usually do it with windows (to save a lot of messing around). Once it is connected, you can reboot to OS/2 and it will work, as long as your wired NIC will work (no special setup required). It looks to OS/2 as a wired network connection.

It wants a device name, and configuration (including password) for other devices (other wireless devices can use it as a router). After a DIR-506L restart you need to ask for a DHCP renewal (or reboot) to get OS/2 to ask for an IP address.

Some experimenting may be required.

I have eCS as the only operating system on my PC so I was hoping that there was a way to configure the 506L from within ecomstation. 
I think my main problem is that I don't know how to use the OS/2 apps, ecomstation internet assistant, the MTPS configuration app and the eCSoNet.
I checked this website http://www.os2warp.be/index2.php?name=wifi and found that, under wireless access points, like the 506L,:

Quote
Normally, these devices should act as a DHCP server. Just plug them into your Ethernet port, configure the port to be a DHCP client, and reboot.

I wish that there was a networking Howto document that would explain how a network works (I'm more familiar  with the windows (Networking and sharing Center) way of doing things. I really kind of need totally basic instructions from the beginning such as

a). buy the unit, buy the ethernet cable (the 506L only comes with a charger cable and a battery)
b). plug in ethernet cable
c). open TCP/IP configuration from WPS->Local System->System Setup
d). set as DHCP connection (and here is where I become lost because I really don't know how these TCP/IP apps work)
e). reboot?

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 1207
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2016, 07:43:06 pm »
Quote
I have eCS as the only operating system on my PC so I was hoping that there was a way to configure the 506L from within ecomstation.


It can be done, easily, once you know what IP addreses to use. The wired NIC and the device, need to be on the same IP address range, or they can't talk to each other (it may be possible with some routing, but i never bothered to figure that out). http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/network/tcpip/ipprf_10.zip is useful for making temporary IP configurations, and getting back to the normal one, but it can't find the address for you.

I will spend a few minutes to see if I can find a way to do it.

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 1207
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2016, 09:54:07 pm »
I can't find a reliable way to find the address, when it is in Repeater mode, other than to look in the router to see what address it got. Most of the time, you cannot do that.

For those who might think of another way: In Repeater mode, it uses the router, that the DIR-506l is connected to to get an address for itself (the DIR-506l). The computer that you connect also uses the router that the DIR-506l is connected to to get an address. Neither one is guaranteed to be the same as it was previously. You can PING the devices, and find a possible address, but every device that is connected to either the DIR-506l or the router that it is attached to, will respond (but only if it happens to be on the same IP address range). In some cases, that could be thousands of addresses. The DIR-506l is supposed to respond to the name that you assign to it (I think that is "DLINK_DIR-506l.local" by default - I changed mine), but Firefox always seems to want to use "www.DLINK_DIR-506l.local", and that doesn't work. Firefox in windows doesn't have that problem, and it can always find the device, no matter what address range it happens to take.

The only other way, that I know of, is to reset the DIR-506l to factory. Then it will assign a compatible address to the computer, and Firefox will go to the name "DLINK_DIR-506l.local". That takes you to the setup wizard, which does the rest. After it restarts itself, you may need to ask for a new DHCP address (or reboot). After all of that, it should continue to work (even if powered off), until you need to connect it to another address range.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2016, 10:45:48 pm »
I don't know if the 506L counts as a wireless adapter or an ethernet connection (since I connect it to my computer's ethernet port. I don't know which internet connection app is the correct one to use
I'm not sure I follow .
I do not know
a-if you want to connect the pc with a cable to the router and the wifi506L to connect to another Wi-Fi.
b-Or you want to connect your pc via wifi to your router506L

Saludos

Rich442

  • Guest
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2016, 11:53:48 pm »

I don't know if the 506L counts as a wireless adapter or an ethernet connection (since I connect it to my computer's ethernet port. I don't know which internet connection app is the correct one to use
I'm not sure I follow .
I do not know
a-if you want to connect the pc with a cable to the router and the wifi506L to connect to another Wi-Fi.
plug the device into my ethernet port so that it will effectively be like an ethernet connection.
Quote
os2 warp <dot> belgium
http://www.os2warp.be/index2.php?name=wifi2#4.5 says it like this:

Quote
there are Eicon DSL-routers that also allow this kind of configuration. Normally, these devices should act as a DHCP server.

 Just plug them into your Ethernet port, configure the port to be a DHCP client, and reboot.

What I want to do is  connect my 506L to my computer's ethernet port (with a ethernet cable)
Quote
b-Or you want to connect your pc via wifi to your router506

I wish to connect my 506L to my ethernet port so that it will connect with my existing network as though it were just like a wired connection. I hope this "picture" will help.

[IBM M52 Thinkcentre ethernet port]<---->[ethernet cable]<---->[506L access point ethernet port]<~~~~>[connect to home wifi network]


Thank you all for your responses. :)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 34
  • Posts: 977
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2016, 12:18:04 am »
Richard, the D-Link unit is overkill for what you want. It is also a so and so to setup since it requires a wireless enabled computer to start with.

We have been using the IOGEAR GWU 627 ethernet to WiFi adapters for some of our clients that have non WiFi enabled OS/2 laptops and wvensome that have a wireless card but there are no OS/2 drivers for it.

These units are easy to setup and once working it is just a matter of plugging in the ethernet and usb (for power) cables.

http://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-Universal-Ethernet-Adapter-GWU627/dp/B004UAKCS6

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2016, 12:59:00 am »

[IBM M52 Thinkcentre ethernet port]<---->[ethernet cable]<---->[506L access point ethernet port]<~~~~>[connect to home wifi network]
The first is to install the driver for your net ethernet card,
in a command com os2,
ping 127.0.0.1
return a similar to this:
[C:\]ping 127.0.0.1
PING 127.0.0.1: 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=0. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2. time=0. ms

----127.0.0.1 PING Statistics----
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip (ms)  min/avg/max = 0/0/0

push ctrl+c

If you have this ok, you have the driver for ethernet ok.
otherwise, a command- com OS2 , write MPTS and push intro
Select you network adapter, protocol and comunications.
save and run the ping 127.... again.

after that you have to configure tcpip (this need another explain)
wait for your comments.
Saludos

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 1207
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2016, 01:08:19 am »
Quote
Richard, the D-Link unit is overkill for what you want. It is also a so and so to setup since it requires a wireless enabled computer to start with.

It may be overkill, but it works, and it is very handy for other things. It does not require a wireless computer to start with. It can be configured through the wired connection. It does get tricky when it is in Repeater mode (required for what the OP wants to do) because the IP address is not easy to find in OS/2 (it is easy in windows).

Quote
ping 127.0.0.1

What has that got to do with ethernet? That is the localhost address.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2016, 01:26:29 am »

Quote
ping 127.0.0.1

What has that got to do with ethernet? That is the localhost address.
Hello Doug
I am not a expert in net, but this is a check for know if your network card is ready. After that you can config tcpip.
Saludos

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 34
  • Posts: 977
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2016, 01:39:42 am »
Quote
I am not a expert in net, but this is a check for know if your network card is ready

Only one problem with that, you can ping localhost even if there is no network card in the computer.

Rich442

  • Guest
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2016, 05:56:29 pm »
Thank you again for all the help. Here are the results of pinging "home" on my workstation.

With the ethernet cable unplugged and the 506L turned off (there is no network card):

Quote
[N:\]ping 127.0.0.1
Unknown Hostname
With the ethernet cable plugged in and attached to the 506L (turned on)
after rebooting:
Quote
[N:\]ping 127.0.0.1
PING 127.0.0.1: 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=0. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=3. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=4. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=5. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=6. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=7. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=8. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=9. time=0. ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=10. time=0. ms

----127.0.0.1 PING Statistics----
11 packets transmitted, 11 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip (ms)  min/avg/max = 0/0/0
[N:\]

The feedback continues indefinitely until I press CTRL-C, but there is the initial output after 11 cycles.  :)
« Last Edit: April 03, 2016, 08:47:27 pm by Richard Crowley »

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2016, 09:09:27 pm »
Well Richard,
Now you have to configure TCP IP.
This link can help you:
http://www.baywarp.org/features/home.shtml
http://www.baywarp.org/features/mixednet.pdf

And if need any help ask

Saludos

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 31
  • Posts: 441
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: connecting with the D-Link 506L wireless access point
« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2016, 09:26:20 pm »
What happens if you ping the D-Link 506L?

If the D-Link has given the ThinkCentre an IP address, open the DHCP monitor to see what it is, or type on command line:

ifconfig lan0

Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com