Author Topic: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1  (Read 3313 times)

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 407
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 2409
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« on: October 28, 2019, 03:13:57 pm »
Congratulations to Bitwise works on this new milestone.

I'm looking forward to try Qt5 and I hope to get more time to play with Qt Designer.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2019, 03:16:29 pm »
OK, I may be a bit thick today but what do I need to download to just run some QT5  programs?  It was simple with QT4 but I can't see what is needed for QT5 or do we have to wait for that to happen?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2170
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2019, 03:39:13 pm »

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 407
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 2409
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2019, 05:44:54 pm »
Hi

The Qt5  5.13.1 is still on the Netlabs experimental repository. On my experience it takes some days to be on the "release/regular" RPM repository.  If you want to install the experimental repo, I wrote this some time ago.

Regards


Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 36
  • Posts: 851
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2019, 09:35:26 pm »
Hi ivan

You may want to look at https://github.com/bitwiseworks/qtbase-os2 for a basic readme.

Are there some qt5 apps available to try?


Regards

Pete

Paul Smedley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 54
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2019, 03:15:41 am »
Hey Pete,

Are there some qt5 apps available to try?

I looked at building latest Quassel, but it failed due to needing QtScript which we don't have yet. I also looked at a newer Wireshark and that needed a different Qt5 module that we also don't have yet.

Cheers,

Paul.

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2019, 07:56:57 am »
Hi,

I have build several Qt5 progs, i will make them available

Ok, i have put some progs @ https://tellie.stackstorage.com/s/okNg928e0OdsMaGO

There are some rpm and zip files..

Please remind it are not official builds...

I will putt some more in in the next weeks

« Last Edit: November 01, 2019, 09:53:22 pm by TeLLie »

David McKenna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2019, 05:46:28 pm »
 Hi Tellie,

  I get an error when I try your link... sure that is correct?

Regards,

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2019, 08:05:48 am »

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2019, 09:10:17 am »
Elbert, I see a new luckybackup version. Thanks. I use this program very often. Have the try the newest version.

Now I wonder where the current sources are from which you build it. I searched the netlabs repos (qtapps) but it seems there is not very much content. Do you build straight from the sourceforge repository and merge your OS/2 related changes there?

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #10 on: November 06, 2019, 04:59:01 pm »
Andi,

look @ https://github.com/TeLLie/luckybackup-os2

And the author made some OS2 related changes...
« Last Edit: November 06, 2019, 05:02:40 pm by TeLLie »

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #11 on: November 06, 2019, 11:17:48 pm »
I upload a first QT5 Beebeep build to the repo.

See https://www.beebeep.net for some info about the program.



Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2019, 03:42:35 pm »
Seems LuckyBackup (all QT5 programs?) do not work well with sliding focus. When I select a menu and move the cursor down into the menu listing the menu closes. Old LuckyBackup works well.

roberto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 475
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2019, 07:50:56 pm »
Hello
I have been testing both the QT5 demonstration applications and the covers in this thread. The problem you comment in the menus doesn't come out to me.
But in the qphpedit.exe application, when I say *save us*, I get an error c00000005.
With pamorama when I change the colors to 256 the applications of qt5 fail and those of qt4 do not fail

guzzi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 307
    • View Profile
Re: Qt 5 version 5.13.1 OS/2 Beta 1
« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2019, 10:00:50 pm »
Hello
I have been testing both the QT5 demonstration applications and the covers in this thread. The problem you comment in the menus doesn't come out to me.
But in the qphpedit.exe application, when I say *save us*, I get an error c00000005.
With pamorama when I change the colors to 256 the applications of qt5 fail and those of qt4 do not fail

If others see this as well do report this on github.

Dmitry is currently porting the webengine part of QT5. Sponsoring is still needed. Voice is sponsoring as much as possible but our funds are depleting too. We're on schedule with development and per 1-10-2019, 10-1-2019 for our American friends, only at 70% of the amount needed.

Go to https://github.com/bitwiseworks to see the current status of the different QT5 modules.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2019, 10:21:05 pm by guzzi »