Author Topic: Qt6 Application Testing  (Read 185094 times)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2099
  • Karma: +161/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #90 on: February 16, 2023, 04:29:19 am »
Unfortunately I still get the same error with libvpx built with -mno-avx

@Dave - are you able to email/send me a link of your libvpx.a - interestingly, the example programs work find!

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #91 on: February 16, 2023, 04:37:03 am »
My map file was for the DLL, wouldn't be surprised if the static lib has the same issue (I lost track which you were referencing). As you say, the example programs link fine.
You might have to bite the bullet and temporarily distribute libvpx8.dll.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #92 on: February 16, 2023, 04:39:18 am »
Playing with the spell checker and following issue #158 (long and rambling) it rambled into setting up the spellchecker.
Basically this is how I got it working, with Dooble installed in L:\qt6\bin
Create L:\qt6\qtwebengine_dictionaries
copy dictionary files such as en_CA.aff and en_CA.dic from @uixroot/usr/share/myspell to the above.
From L:\qt6\qtwebengine_dictionaries, run qwebengine_convert_dict ./en_CA ./en_CA.bdic so something like
Code: [Select]
[L:\qt6\bin\qtwebengine_dictionaries]qwebengine_convert_dict ./en_CA.dic ./en_CA.bdic
./en_CA.dic_delta not found.
Reading ./en_CA.aff
Reading ./en_CA.dic
Serializing...
Verifying...
Writing ./en_CA.bdic
Success. Dictionary converted.


Also don't forget to enable the right dictionaries in settings and press Apply. Spell checking doesn't seem very good but it works.
Hmm adding en_US after converting seems to have fixed the spell checking
Edit: Note the important thing is that qtwebengine_dictionaries is below the directory where Dooble is installed, so for the Qt5 version, @unixroot/usr/bin/qtwebengine_dictionaries would be correct
« Last Edit: February 16, 2023, 04:45:29 am by Dave Yeo »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #93 on: February 16, 2023, 04:59:39 am »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2099
  • Karma: +161/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #94 on: February 16, 2023, 06:51:36 am »
Meanwhile, I built a DLL for libvpx and now get:
Code: [Select]
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_convolve8_horiz_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_filter_block1d4_h2_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_filter_block1d4_h8_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_filter_block1d4_v8_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_convolve8_vert_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_filter_block1d4_v2_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_convolve8_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_filter_block1d4_h8_avg_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_convolve8_avg_horiz_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_filter_block1d4_h2_avg_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_filter_block1d4_v8_avg_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_convolve8_avg_vert_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_filter_block1d4_v2_avg_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_convolve8_avg_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_fdct4x4_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_fdct8x8_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_fdct16x16_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_fdct32x32_rd_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_fdct32x32_c is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_calc16x16var_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_calc8x8var_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_sub_pixel_variance16xh_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_sub_pixel_variance8xh_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_sub_pixel_avg_variance16xh_sse2 is an undefined reference
Error! E2028: _vpx_highbd_sub_pixel_avg_variance8xh_sse2 is an undefined reference

Might be that some code from webengine didn't get rebuilt after reconfiguring for system vpx...

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #95 on: February 16, 2023, 07:01:50 am »
Those don't even seem to get compiled here, at least the couple of symbols I looked at.
OK, they seem to require CONFIG_VP9_HIGHBITDEPTH defined. Have to look harder but visited the optometrist today and those drops are bothering my eyes. Routine visit.
Edit: Looks like it needs --enable-vp9-highbitdepth fed to configure, which doesn't seem to build here.
Edit2: cleaning my obj directory totally fixed the compilation and added at least some of the missing symbols
« Last Edit: February 16, 2023, 07:37:28 am by Dave Yeo »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2099
  • Karma: +161/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #96 on: February 16, 2023, 07:38:06 am »
All good - those symbols were being asked for my remnants of the included libvpx, that were still present in qtwebengine_objects.rsp - seems re-configuring didn't properly clean these out.

I removed them and managed to build a qt6webee.dll that links against vpx113.dll (I cheated and used dllar.cmd to create the DLL from libvpx.a - this avoids any DLL name clash).

https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6webee-20230216.zip is up now, and I'm about to see if it works :)

Seems MUCH better with video - watched several minutes of ABC news, and now playing a video clip on youtube (If you like Punk music - checkout the band in the screenshot)

Edit: got a TRP (with my special libcn0) after a few minutes of youtube - attached.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2023, 07:42:02 am by Paul Smedley »

KO Myung-Hun

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #97 on: February 16, 2023, 08:53:59 am »
Hi/2.

Hi/2.

I've built VLC successfully with .pc files extracted from MSYS2 packages, modified in according to your .pc files and renamed to Qt5*.pc.

However, VLC fails at startup due to SIGSEGV in Qt6Core.dll. I attach .pc files and EXCEPTQ log.

Thanks!

Are you able to raise a ticket for this at my GitHub?

I've opened a ticket.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #98 on: February 17, 2023, 05:02:43 am »
Trying to build Dooble, and now a simple hello world,
Code: [Select]
#include <QTextStream>

int main() {
 QTextStream(stdout) << "Hello, world!" << endl;
 return 0;
}

I keep getting this error with Qt6's qmake,
Code: [Select]
[H:\hello]qmake -project
L:/QT6/mkspecs/features/toolchain.prf:76: Variable QMAKE_CXX.COMPILER_MACROS is
not defined.
Project ERROR: failed to parse default search paths from compiler output
Very similar error with Dooble. Googling shows it is a somewhat common problem on Windows but no simple solution, at least at the cmd line.
Builds fine with qmake-qt5, same with Dooble though I forgot how to work around the munlock issue and simply removed a define.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2099
  • Karma: +161/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #99 on: February 17, 2023, 05:18:15 am »
I saw this yesterday on a machine I haven't built anything qt6 related on before, but on another box it works fine <shrug>

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2099
  • Karma: +161/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #100 on: February 17, 2023, 09:44:24 am »
Did anyone test the latest build?

Mike Kölling

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #101 on: February 17, 2023, 11:14:35 am »
Did anyone test the latest build?

Dear Paul,

I tested Youtube with the Warpstock 2022 videos.
With highmem -b: Youtube starts but no video nor sound.
With highmem -c: Youtube starts but no video (but a start picture) and weak sound.
With highmem -d: Dooble crashes when Youitube is starting.
Without highmem Dooble crahses very soon after the start.

Greetings,
Mike

Modify Corrected a typo and addition, this is texted using latest Dooble-QT6.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2023, 11:16:16 am by Mike Kölling »

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #102 on: February 17, 2023, 12:15:55 pm »
Paul,

  With latest qt6webee I still can't go to https://www.youtube.com without locking the system immediately. If I google search a video, then go to it the ad will play, but as soon as I hit 'skip ads' Dooble disappears from the screen...

Regards,

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #103 on: February 17, 2023, 04:29:35 pm »
Videos play here, Youtube sees the browser silently vanish, but not as quick as previous.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2099
  • Karma: +161/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #104 on: February 17, 2023, 09:32:51 pm »
With highmem -c: Youtube starts but no video (but a start picture) and weak sound.

That's interesting.... the videos play here for me in Virtualbox - but agree, the sound seemed much quieter than the system sounds.... I'll have to try on the T470s when I'm back in Adelaide, we're currently away for the weekend.