Author Topic: new hard drive  (Read 2911 times)

Phil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
new hard drive
« on: 2010.10.06, 06:41:31 »
Hi to all:

   
Recently, I received msg on boot that hard disk #xxxx was in danger of failure, happened to be
Where ecomstation is locateted so decided to replace before I  encountered more tbl.  Having no experence with new hard disk, so far I have no luck in partition, format or making disk bootable,
Ecom install will see the disk in manage volumns windowamd when I try to create new volumn I
Get two error msgs, either "operation not allowed or disk not bootable"  I suspect this is nothing  more than operator error, so getting steered in the right direction would be greatly appreciated,

Regards
Phil Ryan

Saijin_Naib

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1357
  • Birdie Num-Nums
    • View Profile
    • Synperz Domain
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #1 on: 2010.10.06, 07:03:40 »
Sounds like you need the magic of DFSEE to set/reset the LVM information on the drive.

www.dfsee.com

Phil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #2 on: 2010.10.06, 07:11:24 »
saijin
    Thanks for the tip, I have tried with dfsee ver 9, so I will try to set reset lvm and it might
be worth while to upgrade to 10,5

regards
Phil   
   

Saijin_Naib

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1357
  • Birdie Num-Nums
    • View Profile
    • Synperz Domain
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #3 on: 2010.10.06, 07:45:55 »
What is the disk drive size?

Phil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #4 on: 2010.10.06, 08:36:59 »
250 GB

Saijin_Naib

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1357
  • Birdie Num-Nums
    • View Profile
    • Synperz Domain
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #5 on: 2010.10.06, 19:00:00 »
I believe 250gb should be fine if you're using the latest LVM and DANIs drivers.
What version of eCS are you rocking right now?

Phil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #6 on: 2010.10.06, 19:36:15 »
Ecomstation ver 2.0 GA.  Last night I beleive I set/rest the lvm by dfsee ver 9. (now reports ecs lvm).
Now ecs installer crashes at the window that should display disk, volumns and partitions, reverts back to the first install window.
Phil

Saijin_Naib

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1357
  • Birdie Num-Nums
    • View Profile
    • Synperz Domain
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #7 on: 2010.10.06, 21:49:39 »
Is it possible you have a bad burn? Redownload the ISO, hash check it, and re-burn at lowest speed possible with Verify Written Data after the burn just in case.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #8 on: 2010.10.06, 22:39:59 »
Two things spring to mind.

If you can see the drive with DFSee then why not use that to do the partitioning?  I would recommend a small (2 GB) boot partition and then divide up the remainder to fit your needs.

What does the bios see of the drive at boot up? Does it even see all of the drive i.e. is this a fairly new system?  If it doesn't then you are out of luck.

We have several systems here that we built and installed SATA 350 GB drives.  All partitioning was done from a bootable OS/2 CD with DFSee on it.   OS/2 CP2 installed without problems and I understand that is the version of OS/2 that is the base of eCS so I don't understand where the problems you are seeing are from, unless it is the installer you are talking about.

ivan

Robert Deed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • Rob's Space
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #9 on: 2010.10.06, 23:10:44 »
I believe 250gb should be fine if you're using the latest LVM and DANIs drivers.
What version of eCS are you rocking right now?

I have OS/2 loaded on a 320gb deskstar and a travelstar as well..  The size of the drive should be fine.   I would probably open up DfSee and remove all partitioning on the driver, MBR the whole lot.   I have found that the best thing to do it start with a clean slate and let the installer handle the LVM and configuration if that is possible.   Keep in mind, the drive may have shipped with some crummy partitioning. :)

Phil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #10 on: 2010.10.11, 22:23:57 »
Saijin, Ivan and Robert and all

    Thanks for all suggestions and ideas.  Been a few days to reply, was waiting to get dfsee
10,5.  I then wiped the disk and recreated partition.  Back to the installer that is on the ecs disk and still  same results "disk not bootable"  in installer, disk management,  disk is reported as disk 2 with partition dfss created.  Tried creating a bootable partition and failed  shows no free space.  In the same menus list  is option to install boot manager, had not tried that, in doing so put boot manager at begining of disk and the created partition next  and as free space, as required to make bootable. 

Back to the installer and the new partition showed up in window of installedables.  Formatted with JFS  and install completed quickly and smoothly.
    Unclear as to why boot manager had to be installed first but it worked.  Hope this will help someone else faced with like situation.

Regards  Phil

Robert Deed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • Rob's Space
Re: new hard drive
« Reply #11 on: 2010.10.15, 01:00:58 »
I have seen this before when the partition you are trying to boot to is not on disk 1.   In my laptop I just pulled the primary hard drive from the system while I was installing and everything went fine (even though I was still installing to "disk 2", there simply was no disk 1.  Some systems it will go, others it won't.  Sometimes it is effective to temporarily disable all disks except the one you want OS/2 on, assuming you are using the bios to control which drive to boot from later on.

Saijin, Ivan and Robert and all

    Thanks for all suggestions and ideas.  Been a few days to reply, was waiting to get dfsee
10,5.  I then wiped the disk and recreated partition.  Back to the installer that is on the ecs disk and still  same results "disk not bootable"  in installer, disk management,  disk is reported as disk 2 with partition dfss created.  Tried creating a bootable partition and failed  shows no free space.  In the same menus list  is option to install boot manager, had not tried that, in doing so put boot manager at begining of disk and the created partition next  and as free space, as required to make bootable. 

Back to the installer and the new partition showed up in window of installedables.  Formatted with JFS  and install completed quickly and smoothly.
    Unclear as to why boot manager had to be installed first but it worked.  Hope this will help someone else faced with like situation.

Regards  Phil