• Welcome to OS2World OLD-STATIC-BACKUP Forum.

News:

This is an old OS2World backup forum for reference only. IT IS READ ONLY!!!

If you need help with OS/2 - eComStation visit http://www.os2world.com/forum

Main Menu

Dual-boot eCS and Ubuntu how-to?

Started by warpcafe, 2011.03.30, 11:29:45

Previous topic - Next topic

warpcafe

Gents,

I'm trying to get eCS 2.0GA and Ubuntu 10.01 installed on a Thinkpad T32 in a dual-boot fashion.
While I am experienced in dual-boot setups for the last decades when it comes to Microsoft, I am new to the same regarding Linux.

My expectation was that it could not be harder than getting a Redmond-OS to run in dual-boot.
Man, have I got news for you... ;)

Symptom:
If I install Ubuntu first, eCS seems unable to find/create a startable partition as long as I don't "kill" the Ubuntu partitions.
If I install eCS first, installing Ubuntu will turn the eCS partition unusable and not accessible to get reactivated by LVM.

It looks like the Linuxcrap kills vital information on other partitions... seems to be parted/gparted/grub whatever they call it.
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/ubiquity/+bug/669459

Question:
Has someone got Ubuntu (10.01) and eCS 2.0 (GA/RC, whatever) running in dual-boot, both natively? (VBox doesn't count)
if so - what is the recipe to follow? I won't mind using DFSee if that helps fixing the problem.

BTW:
My Ubuntu install is running from a bootable USB thumb drive (live install) so I could be able to use tools contained in a running Ubuntu if that helps... also, the target is to use AirBoot, not the IBM Bootmanager.

TIA, Cheers,
Thomas
"It is not worth an intelligent man's time to be in the majority.
By definition, there are already enough people to do that"
- G.H. Hardy

warpcafe

Hi all,

okay. Sigh.
http://bugs.ecomstation.nl/view.php?id=2914

Known defect of LVM. No fix available it seems.

Thanks anyway for reading my above lament, ;)
Thomas
- G.H. Hardy

ivan

Hi Thomas,