Author Topic: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2  (Read 3048 times)

djcaetano

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« on: 2012.01.18, 03:55:40 »

  Hi All,

  Some weeks ago I formatted my System and installed eCS 2.1. One of the first things I installed was OpenOffice 3.2 from eCS 2.1 CD2... but I am not able to start any of OpenOffice applications. Whenever I double click one of the OO icons the following message box is displayed:

---
Unable to start OpenOffice.org!
Execution failed! Contact technical support.
Return code: 2
Failing module: SAL3
---

  Anyone had this problem? Which technical support should I contact?

  Regards,

  DJC

melf

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #1 on: 2012.01.18, 09:37:04 »
Hi djcaetano,
 just browsed the net for a moment. sal3 is a dll >> sal3.dll. Is to be found in \OpenOffice.org.3\ure\bin\sal3.dll . Different persons (on different platforms) report sudden such errors. Can't so far find any "one and only solution", but some talks about corrupt installations and accidently lost paths or associations. But better check yorself, you might find something out there.

/Mikael

djcaetano

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #2 on: 2012.01.18, 23:48:31 »

  Hi Melf,

just browsed the net for a moment. sal3 is a dll >> sal3.dll. Is to be found in \OpenOffice.org.3\ure\bin\sal3.dll . Different persons (on different platforms) report sudden such errors. Can't so far find any "one and only solution", but some talks about corrupt installations and accidently lost paths or associations. But better check yorself, you might find something out there.

  I'll take a look. Anyway, I reinstalled and the problem continues. Uninstalled it and installed OO 3.1... same problem. :(

  Regards,

  DJC

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #3 on: 2012.01.19, 02:14:34 »
Hi DJC

You should file a bug report on ecomstation as OO is their "baby" - ie they are paying for the port - at http://www.ecomstation.com/support/ooo2/

Regards

Pete

MrJinx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #4 on: 2012.01.19, 05:42:42 »
By any chance did you install the libc064 csd4 from netlabs or yum?
It hosed my OO until I restored version libc063 csd3.  In the new package, I have several issues going on with older applications that don't like the dll forwarder function in the libc064 package but many recent applications have to have the new version.

This subject alone deserves a thread to alert folks that some applications may be acting up or don't work at all without libstrictpath and scripting tricks to keep libc063 csd3 and csd4 versions separated.

If that gets your OO install working let me know. It worked for me.

abwillis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #5 on: 2012.01.19, 06:44:23 »
By any chance did you install the libc064 csd4 from netlabs or yum?
It hosed my OO until I restored version libc063 csd3.  In the new package, I have several issues going on with older applications that don't like the dll forwarder function in the libc064 package but many recent applications have to have the new version.

This subject alone deserves a thread to alert folks that some applications may be acting up or don't work at all without libstrictpath and scripting tricks to keep libc063 csd3 and csd4 versions separated.

If that gets your OO install working let me know. It worked for me.
Interesting... libc064 works fine with OO 3.2 fine here.

jep

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #6 on: 2012.01.20, 12:58:01 »
Hello,

Had exaclty the same problem...
I placed the HOME and the Programs folders on D: but OpenOffice didn't start after I tried to install it to D:\Programs.

Solution:
Install it to C:

e.g. C:\Programs\OpenOffice... that is.

//Jan-Erik

DougB

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #7 on: 2012.01.20, 23:19:32 »
Quote
Solution:
Install it to C:

That is obviously not necessary. My boot drives are C: and M:. OOo 3.2 is installed on W:, along with the %HOME% directory, and it works with no trouble (other than the lack of JAVA, which is another issue).

I have no idea what the actual problem might be, but it isn't that it needs to be installed to C:, or even in %PROGRAMS%.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #8 on: 2012.01.22, 00:09:43 »
Hi All

It does not matter where I install OO310/320 as attempting to use it often results in a crash.

Maybe 3.3.0 will work... and maybe I'm just being hopeful  :-(


Regards

Pete

djcaetano

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #9 on: 2012.01.24, 01:09:45 »
Had exaclty the same problem...
I placed the HOME and the Programs folders on D: but OpenOffice didn't start after I tried to install it to D:\Programs.
Solution:
Install it to C:
e.g. C:\Programs\OpenOffice... that is.
//Jan-Erik

  Thanks Jan. Installing to C: did the trick.
  Weird.

ydario

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #10 on: 2012.02.27, 18:41:43 »
Had exaclty the same problem...
I placed the HOME and the Programs folders on D: but OpenOffice didn't start after I tried to install it to D:\Programs.
Solution:
Install it to C:
e.g. C:\Programs\OpenOffice... that is.
//Jan-Erik

  Thanks Jan. Installing to C: did the trick.
  Weird.

really weird, OOo installation does not depend on drive, I'm pretty sure ;-)

Which path did you use on  on D: ? file system?

djcaetano

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #11 on: 2012.02.27, 20:42:04 »
really weird, OOo installation does not depend on drive, I'm pretty sure ;-)
Which path did you use on  on D: ? file system?

  Hi Yuri,

  Path was: D:\PROGRAMS\OO

  Regards!

ydario

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #12 on: 2012.03.01, 19:51:22 »
  Path was: D:\PROGRAMS\OO

works for me in that location... and I don't see why it can't work either.
error 2 means that it cannot locate D:\PROGRAMS\OO\ure\bin\sal3.dll; are you sure this file is in the correct place?

you don't need to reinstall, just copy all files to d:\programs\oo

jep

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
Re: Error when opening OpenOffice 3.2
« Reply #13 on: 2012.03.02, 17:26:44 »
works for me in that location... and I don't see why it can't work either.
error 2 means that it cannot locate D:\PROGRAMS\OO\ure\bin\sal3.dll; are you sure this file is in the correct place?

you don't need to reinstall, just copy all files to d:\programs\oo

for me it was "C:\Programs\OpenOffice" (note that I edited the last part to leave out the default for a more generic name)
Yes, I tried to deinstall, reinstall, fresh install, install...
before I deisntalled it and installed to C:\PROGRAMS\OpenOffice

//Jan-Erik