Author Topic: Freezing of the WPS  (Read 9669 times)

Carlo_Warp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Freezing of the WPS
« on: 2007.12.19, 21:59:32 »
I got many times freezing of the WPS when surfing the Internet with eCS RC1. It happened only with Firefox, Mozilla and Seamonkey

I had the same problem with the Italian version of eCS: 1.2R

Such big problem is making me reluctant of purchasing the Software Subscription again.

Here is my Hardware:

Amd Duron 800 Mhz
1 Gbyte DDR RAM
Motherboard Asus A7N8X-X with Nvidia Nforce 2 Chipset
GeForce 4 MX Video Card
Logitech USB optical mouse

Any help will be immensly appreciated!

DavidG

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #1 on: 2007.12.19, 22:02:43 »
What versions of the programs are you using?  How were they installed? with the installer or extracted from zip and installed manually?

Carlo_Warp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #2 on: 2007.12.19, 22:09:59 »
I am using Firefox 2.0.0.4 (the one installed by eCS 2.0 RC1). I removed the SCSI controller 2940 UW2, but it didn't help. I don't remember the versions of Seamonkey and Mozilla. Believe me, it is a very annoying problem!

What versions of the programs are you using?  How were they installed? with the installer or extracted from zip and installed manually?

RobertM

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2034
    • View Profile
    • A.I.BuiltPC - using OS/2 Warp Server & eComStation for Custom Web and Database Solutions
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #3 on: 2007.12.19, 22:34:58 »
Firefox (any recent build) will do that - especially on certain pages or certain conditions, such as (but not limited to):
  • Waiting for gMail to load it's scripts
  • Initializing Java (v1.4.2?)
  • Laoding pages with certain Flash content in them

The only thing that I've tried that alleviates it is using an SMP machine with SMP enabled in OS/2 - and even then, there is a slight wait before OS/2 will take control away. This will also work with non-SMP - but reacts much slower (if at all).

There was a utility floating around someplace that decreased the priority of Mozilla but I have not tried it to see if it alleviates the problem (and I am not sure if it works with new builds).

Sorry I cant be of more help on this...

-Robert
|
|
Kirk's 5 Year Mission Continues at:
Star Trek New Voyages
|
|


Carlo_Warp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #4 on: 2007.12.19, 22:55:29 »
Perhaps is related to Java, who knows. It happened with all web sites up to now. If you know the utility's name, it would be useful.

At the moment I don't want to upgrade my pc (mainboard, processor, ram). I want to install only a faster processor (AMD Athlon 1533 Mhz).

Firefox (any recent build) will do that - especially on certain pages or certain conditions, such as (but not limited to):
  • Waiting for gMail to load it's scripts
  • Initializing Java (v1.4.2?)
  • Laoding pages with certain Flash content in them

The only thing that I've tried that alleviates it is using an SMP machine with SMP enabled in OS/2 - and even then, there is a slight wait before OS/2 will take control away. This will also work with non-SMP - but reacts much slower (if at all).

There was a utility floating around someplace that decreased the priority of Mozilla but I have not tried it to see if it alleviates the problem (and I am not sure if it works with new builds).

Sorry I cant be of more help on this...

-Robert

melf

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #5 on: 2007.12.19, 23:22:19 »
That sounds annoying. I don't have the problem myself. A few things comes to mind:

1. Certain flashcontent as Robert says sometimes freeze or just shut down FF. A cure is to use "flashblock" add on and just watch the flash:es you want to watch.

2. There has been a discussion on news.ecomstation.com regarding Innotek font engine. Seems like it has been downgraded to the 2.40 version in latest releases of eCS (I don't know if RC1 is concerned, but it could be). This version is said to be known to cause freeezings. A cure is to upgrade to 2.60 beta.

3. If you don't find a solution you ought to report it as a bug (first check out existing), its just to much to tolerate.
/Mikael

RobertM

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2034
    • View Profile
    • A.I.BuiltPC - using OS/2 Warp Server & eComStation for Custom Web and Database Solutions
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #6 on: 2007.12.20, 01:02:54 »
Java shouldnt cause this issue unless there is a Java Plugin/app on the page you are viewing. I did just remember something else that definitely caused this issue for me (and made Firefox pretty unusable and horrendously slow). That something is various themes for Firefox - most especially in my experience the Vista/Aero ones - but various others as well.

I think I had the most success with one of the Orbit themes and a couple others. The differences ranged from the browser being horrendously slow to do anything (load a page, display a page, switch tabs, etc) - to the browser's UI (and with some themes, OS/2's GUI) becoming unusable/unresponsive.

Another issue (with Flash) is often the version of the plugin you are using - or whether something else (or another instance of Flash) has the sound card locked when a sound playing flash file is loaded. I get temporary hangs in the GUI (when FF hangs), to "permanent" hangs in both).

I've found (just recently - after having previously restarted each time) that doing something to take focus away from FF usually works after a little bit of a delay (one that exceeds the setting in OS/) - most success with CTRL-ESC/ALT-ESC combinations.

My biggest issue was on some occassions, shutting down FF or PMw-Fx would hang it (any build since at least 2.0.01). I got tired of rebooting, so madly hit CTRL-ESC and/or ALT-ESC (first tries switching to the task switcher app - ie: "Window List" and the second tries switching to a different program). After waiting 5-20 seconds, OS/2 responds with an "unknown process #____" is not responding... (and invariably with JUST an "OK" button to kill it - no cancel button). Selecting OK kills the remnants of FF, frees its memory and all is good.

Anyway, if I remember the name of the utility (NICE maybe?), I'll let you know.

I'm hopeful for a Cairo based build of FF someday soon... I truly think a lot of the issues are with the screen rendering code...
« Last Edit: 2007.12.20, 02:07:45 by RobertM »
|
|
Kirk's 5 Year Mission Continues at:
Star Trek New Voyages
|
|


Saijin_Naib

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1357
  • Birdie Num-Nums
    • View Profile
    • Synperz Domain
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #7 on: 2007.12.20, 01:05:19 »
The phoenity modern theme only slows down Firefox a little, atleast in my testing.

RobertM

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2034
    • View Profile
    • A.I.BuiltPC - using OS/2 Warp Server & eComStation for Custom Web and Database Solutions
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #8 on: 2007.12.20, 01:05:25 »
... A cure is to upgrade to 2.60 beta.


Any chance you know where that may be available? Innotek seems to have removed everything from their web pages and FTP server... :-(

Thanks,
-Rob
|
|
Kirk's 5 Year Mission Continues at:
Star Trek New Voyages
|
|


Eugene Tucker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #9 on: 2007.12.20, 01:41:17 »
Well I hope this information will help many I had these freezes and for the life of me I could not figure it out. Well it occurred to me that I was using a Firefox skin and that it locked up every time I used Firefox regardless of the version.Well it turns out that I went back to the default Firefox theme and dropped the skin I was using for Firefox. And I have not had one lockup since.

Saijin_Naib

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1357
  • Birdie Num-Nums
    • View Profile
    • Synperz Domain
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #10 on: 2007.12.20, 02:11:45 »
You can search for the Innotek Font Runtime in whatever search engine you use and find the pages with the Innotek OS/2 offerings. They are still up, just not a part of the pages anymore.

http://www.innotek.de/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=28&Itemid=44&lang=en

RobertM

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2034
    • View Profile
    • A.I.BuiltPC - using OS/2 Warp Server & eComStation for Custom Web and Database Solutions
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #11 on: 2007.12.20, 02:25:06 »
Much thanks Saijin_Naib! :)

Will give it a try.

-Rob
|
|
Kirk's 5 Year Mission Continues at:
Star Trek New Voyages
|
|


melf

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #12 on: 2007.12.20, 10:18:10 »
Well I hope this information will help many I had these freezes and for the life of me I could not figure it out. Well it occurred to me that I was using a Firefox skin and that it locked up every time I used Firefox regardless of the version.Well it turns out that I went back to the default Firefox theme and dropped the skin I was using for Firefox. And I have not had one lockup since.
Had forgotten that. Haven't used skins for long now and the reason was just what you mention.
/Mikael

Carlo_Warp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #13 on: 2007.12.21, 20:41:21 »
Thank you, I got the Innotek Font Engine 2.60. Shall I install it over the current version just by double clicking on it?

I have to look for Flashblock as well.


You can search for the Innotek Font Runtime in whatever search engine you use and find the pages with the Innotek OS/2 offerings. They are still up, just not a part of the pages anymore.

http://www.innotek.de/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=28&Itemid=44&lang=en

Carlo_Warp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Freezing of the WPS
« Reply #14 on: 2007.12.21, 22:53:45 »
A few interesting things:

I installed Flashblock and I clicked on a Flash animation to watch it and I got a system freeze. That's why I thought the problem are Flash animations!

After the reboot, I got Chekdisk of the JFS volumes, but after having loaded the SNAP driver I got the mouse's cursor stuck on the screen.

Now it is impossible to have a working system.

That sounds annoying. I don't have the problem myself. A few things comes to mind:

1. Certain flashcontent as Robert says sometimes freeze or just shut down FF. A cure is to use "flashblock" add on and just watch the flash:es you want to watch.

2. There has been a discussion on news.ecomstation.com regarding Innotek font engine. Seems like it has been downgraded to the 2.40 version in latest releases of eCS (I don't know if RC1 is concerned, but it could be). This version is said to be known to cause freeezings. A cure is to upgrade to 2.60 beta.

3. If you don't find a solution you ought to report it as a bug (first check out existing), its just to much to tolerate.