Author Topic: OS/4 (technical details only)  (Read 26066 times)

OS4User

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 42
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #195 on: April 29, 2019, 10:13:07 am »
Is ACPI necessary with OS4?

ACPI is optional in many cases. But some systems with broken or missing MP table need it to run in SMP mode.


David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #196 on: July 09, 2019, 05:27:49 pm »

Update:  I have been using the OS4 kernel with the sandybridge AVX FireFox for some time now.  I have another partition with the OS/2 kernel and the no VAX FF.  I can honestly say I prefer the FF AVX vesrion over the OS/2 kernel no AVX version.  The Firefox AVX version with the OS/4 kernel appears to be to be far more robust.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 38
  • Posts: 1129
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #197 on: July 09, 2019, 09:25:41 pm »
I see many references to Intel processors but I have a question.  Will OS/4 work with a Ryzen 3 2200G with built in graphics and if so, what do I need to change on my OS/2 4.52 CP image to make it work (has to be from the image file as there are no USB 3 drivers and the installer doesn't work - not enough memory with 4GB for some reason).

I ask because I have a spare computer now I have upgraded my main computer to a Ryzen 5 2400G processor unit and would like to test OS/4 on the old unit.

OS4User

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 42
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #198 on: July 10, 2019, 07:59:40 am »
Will OS/4 work with a Ryzen 3 2200G with built in graphics (?)

Some HW with Ryzen is reported as working:
https://www.os2world.com/wiki/index.php/Phoenix_OS/4#OS.2F4_Tested_Hardware_List

and if so, what do I need to change on my OS/2 4.52 CP image to make it work (has to be from the image file as there are no USB 3 drivers and the installer doesn't work - not enough memory with 4GB for some reason).

http://gus.biysk.ru/os4/os2krnlSVN5537_unoff.zip  includes the required binaries and HowTo file with an instruction.

Pls, let me know if something is unclear. I am also curious about the results of installation.

Sigurd Fastenrath

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 439
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #199 on: July 10, 2019, 08:10:23 am »
Are you interested in Results using OS/4 kernel with OS4ACPI on Thinkpad 25 with Intel Core i7 7500U CPU?

I have got it up and running, OS/4 kernel starts in log mode, so I can see a lot of messages during start.

So far I discovered the following traps wich do not occure once I use the 14.201SMP Kernel with the same OS/2 4.52 based system (not ArcaOS). I have the latest QSINIT installed and from that I am using that Bootmenue where I can switch between different config.sys files. So I am able to boot what I want to use.

Traps so far (again: does not happen with kernel 14.201SMP):

- starting DOSBOX freeze WPS
- sometimes opening Drives (Icon view) freeze WPS (50%)

What can I provide for you?

I am not using ANPM, Open Office is already running, have to modify for latest Firefox/Thunderbird to get them to run, once this works I will test the AVX capability with the AVX Firefox. During start OS/4 kernel reports "AVX capability" of the system (or some kind of similar message, do not have it at hand now)

By the way: I plan to build a Thinkpad 25 "Frankenpad" later this year that will be based on a Thinkpad 25 but will have a Intel Core i7 - 8550U CPU (8th Generation in contrast to the usual 7th Generation), so it will double kernels and provide even more speed. In addition it will have another Display as the one in the Thinkpad 25 is unfortunately of very poor qualitiy (low brightness, low colours). Will test my customized Warp 4.52 including OS/4 kernel with it as well then. The first parts did already arrive  :) :) Including the "Legendary" keyboard of the Thinkpad 25, the best I have ever used, so far. Really hard to find and get. I plan to call "my" Thinkpad 25 the "Thinkpad 25-W" Edition, where the W is a synonym for "Watson" and "Warp" ;)

If interested in you can follow the Thinkpad 25-W Edition Thread here:

https://thinkpad-forum.de/threads/220152-Thinkpad-25-W-der-Thinkpad-25-Frankenpad-Umbau-Versuchsbericht?p=2198168#post2198168
« Last Edit: July 10, 2019, 08:49:37 am by Sigurd Fastenrath »

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #200 on: July 10, 2019, 10:36:24 am »
Are you interested in Results using OS/4 kernel with OS4ACPI on Thinkpad 25 with Intel Core i7 7500U CPU?

I have got it up and running, OS/4 kernel starts in log mode, so I can see a lot of messages during start.

So far I discovered the following traps wich do not occure once I use the 14.201SMP Kernel with the same OS/2 4.52 based system (not ArcaOS). I have the latest QSINIT installed and from that I am using that Bootmenue where I can switch between different config.sys files. So I am able to boot what I want to use.


Are you using the latest test OS4 kernel located at

http://gus.biysk.ru/os4/os2krnlSVN5537_unoff.zip

David

OS4User

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 42
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #201 on: July 10, 2019, 10:18:43 pm »
Are you interested in Results using OS/4 kernel with OS4ACPI on Thinkpad 25 with Intel Core i7 7500U CPU?

Yes, it is interesting.

I have got it up and running, OS/4 kernel starts in log mode, so I can see a lot of messages during start.

So far I discovered the following traps wich do not occure once I use the 14.201SMP Kernel with the same OS/2 4.52 based system (not ArcaOS). I have the latest QSINIT installed and from that I am using that Bootmenue where I can switch between different config.sys files. So I am able to boot what I want to use.

Traps so far (again: does not happen with kernel 14.201SMP):

- starting DOSBOX freeze WPS
- sometimes opening Drives (Icon view) freeze WPS (50%)

I have never head about this behavior.  Need more testing.

Sigurd Fastenrath

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 439
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #202 on: July 12, 2019, 11:02:12 am »
Are you interested in Results using OS/4 kernel with OS4ACPI on Thinkpad 25 with Intel Core i7 7500U CPU?

Yes, it is interesting.

I have got it up and running, OS/4 kernel starts in log mode, so I can see a lot of messages during start.

So far I discovered the following traps wich do not occure once I use the 14.201SMP Kernel with the same OS/2 4.52 based system (not ArcaOS). I have the latest QSINIT installed and from that I am using that Bootmenue where I can switch between different config.sys files. So I am able to boot what I want to use.

Traps so far (again: does not happen with kernel 14.201SMP):

- starting DOSBOX freeze WPS
- sometimes opening Drives (Icon view) freeze WPS (50%)

I have never head about this behavior.  Need more testing.

Hi, I will respond to your e-mails later this weekend. I do use lastest unofficial kernel as suggested by David Graser.

During booting OS/4 kernel I have the message: "Can not load PMDD.SYS" and to confirm it, may be I have not exactly followed the instructions (did not have this errormessage on other Hardware though). I will have a closer look.

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #203 on: November 19, 2019, 02:00:18 pm »
Hi, I have problems with NTFS Plugin of NetDrive and the OS4 Kernel. With the normal ArcaOS kernel 14.201 I have no problems to mount and access an NTFS formatted volume. With my OS4 kernel os2krnlSVN5661 my system freezes immediately after the mount command: 'nd mount ntfs g:\ ;path=/dev/hdb1 w'. I have also tried other os4 kernels.

regards Bernhard.

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #204 on: November 20, 2019, 05:58:22 pm »
HI, thx for your help. It took some time because my primary OS/2 (ArcaOS) pc, which is a laptop (thinkpad w520) has no serial connector. So I used my old one, which has a docking station with serial connector. Here is the trap:

Code: [Select]
getPhysDevParam DevHandle 0x0009 rc 0x00000000


Trap 13 (0DH) - General Protection Fault ebe8, GDT
eax=00000000 ebx=002e0170 ecx=00000200 edx=00000801 esi=0000001e edi=faefcc14
eip=fff651dc esp=0000ebb0 ebp=002eaee0 iopl=0 rf -- -- nv up ei pl nz na pe nc
cs=0178 ss=1530 ds=0170 es=0170 fs=0000 gs=0000 cr2=1e291e70 cr3=0024b000 p=00
0178:fff651dc 1f             pop     ds
##

With an older os4 kernel (svn5523) I got the following crash, see attached picture.

regards Bernhard

« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 06:18:13 pm by Bernhard Pöttinger »

OS4User

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 42
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #205 on: November 21, 2019, 07:36:30 pm »
Here is the trap:

Hi Bernhard

try on  5665

Regards

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #206 on: November 22, 2019, 02:29:50 pm »
Hi,
it's working without problems.

Code: [Select]
{0}[e:\] nd automnt E:\Programs\NDFS\einstein_ntfs.ndc
Drive letter [G:] has been created.
    NTFS: G:\ /dev/hdc1
Automount completed.

{0}[e:\] df -h
Dateisystem      Größe Benutzt Verf. Verw% Eingehängt auf
os2arcaos         8,0G    1,3G  6,8G   16% C:/
os2ecs21           20G    5,6G   14G   29% D:/
os2bluelion        20G    6,9G   13G   35% E:/
os2data           192G     95G   97G   50% F:/
NTFS </dev/hdc1>  120G     25G   96G   21% G:/

thx bernhard

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 709
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #207 on: March 24, 2020, 05:02:13 pm »
Can anything be done to fix the DMI table?

A little background. ANPM uses the output of dmidecode to hash/encrypt ID/PASS credentials for subscription repos. I was working through an issue where on the OS2 kernel this process was failing. Turned out to be caused by the board maker (MSI) putting/leaving generic identifier string in a specific DMI table field. Alex fixed this, so now that works.

I subsequently booted up using my OS4 config and came to find out that ANPM credentials check on the sub repos failed again. This time I looked through the debug, reviewed the outputs from dmidecode and indeed, the output is broken. In case someone else is attempting to use ANPM on an OS4 configured system they will likely fail as well.

FYI, here is what I'm seeing:

Code: [Select]
[G:\]dmidecode
# dmidecode 3.1
Scanning /dev/mem for entry point.
SMBIOS 2.5 present.
54 structures occupying 1934 bytes.
Table at 0x0009F800.

Invalid entry length (0). DMI table is broken! Stop.

OS4User

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 42
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #208 on: March 24, 2020, 06:25:25 pm »
Can anything be done to fix the DMI table?

AFAIK DMI table is provided by mobo manufacturer  - so no idea how to fix it.

In case someone else is attempting to use ANPM on an OS4 configured system they will likely fail as well.
FYI, here is what I'm seeing:

Code: [Select]
[G:\]dmidecode
# dmidecode 3.1
Scanning /dev/mem for entry point.
SMBIOS 2.5 present.
54 structures occupying 1934 bytes.
Table at 0x0009F800.

Invalid entry length (0). DMI table is broken! Stop.

I use ANPM on OS/4 system for quite long - so far so good.

Here is my output of dmidecode
Code: [Select]
# dmidecode 2.12
SMBIOS version fixup (2.33 -> 2.3).
SMBIOS 2.3 present.
41 structures occupying 1581 bytes.
Table at 0xDFEDF000.

Invalid entry length (0). DMI table is broken! Stop.

I subsequently booted up using my OS4 config and came to find out that ANPM credentials check on the sub repos failed again.

ANPM could have some other reason to fail on OS/4.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 16
  • Posts: 709
    • View Profile
Re: OS/4 (technical details only)
« Reply #209 on: March 24, 2020, 07:20:17 pm »
Can anything be done to fix the DMI table?

AFAIK DMI table is provided by mobo manufacturer  - so no idea how to fix it.

Fair, except that when I boot using OS2 instead of the OS4 config this is what the very same dmidecode run produces:

Code: [Select]
[G:\util\anpm]dmidecode -t 4
# dmidecode 2.12
SMBIOS 2.5 present.

Handle 0x0004, DMI type 4, 40 bytes
Processor Information
        Socket Designation: CPU1
        Type: Central Processor
        Family: Other
        Manufacturer: AMD
        ID: A0 0F 10 00 FF FB 8B 17
        Version: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1100T Processor
        Voltage: 1.5 V
        External Clock: 200 MHz
        Max Speed: 3700 MHz
        Current Speed: 4000 MHz
        Status: Populated, Enabled
        Upgrade: Other
        L1 Cache Handle: 0x0005
        L2 Cache Handle: 0x0006
        L3 Cache Handle: 0x0007
        Serial Number: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
        Asset Tag: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
        Part Number: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
        Core Count: 6
        Core Enabled: 6
        Characteristics:
                64-bit capable


...
I use ANPM on OS/4 system for quite long - so far so good.

Here is my output of dmidecode
Code: [Select]
# dmidecode 2.12
SMBIOS version fixup (2.33 -> 2.3).
SMBIOS 2.3 present.
41 structures occupying 1581 bytes.
Table at 0xDFEDF000.

Invalid entry length (0). DMI table is broken! Stop.

OK, so in your case you are likewise seeing the same dmidecode failure I see, the DMI table is flagged as broken, but most likely (at least given my experience) if you were to boot in the OS2 config that would actually produce a valid output.

Remember, it is NOT that ANPM is flat out broken on OS4, the issue is that with subscription repos the credentials logic in ANPM uses the dmidecode information to uniquely identify the system (that's my understanding of the logic anyways), and since under OS4 config that dmidecode run fails to correctly retrieve the information that OS2 normally retrieves, it causes ANPM to fail validating the subscription repo credentials.