Author Topic: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?  (Read 1343 times)

Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« on: December 24, 2020, 12:59:38 am »
Hi all,

I came across an old IBM laptop, and I want to try dual booting FreeDOS and ArcaOS; possibly even trpple boot MS-DOS if I can find media that works.  For this particual combo, I have not come across any guides; so links [if existant] will be helpful.

What works: I can boot this machine, and load FreeDOS installation from a USB stick.  I do not have any means to write CD ROM images [don't have disks] nor do I have a CD ROM drive outside the target machine.  If CD ROM is absolutely needed for something, there's a chicken and egg problem.

As I write this, I'm downloading an ArcaOS image I mean to put on a different USB stick.

For dual (or tripple) booting FreeDOS and ArcaOS, what are the steps I need to take, and in what order?  So far, I'm not familiar with Airboot, which I believe is a boot manager that comes with ArcaOS.  I am totally open to different boot managers, as long as they're relatively hassle free.  I remember having issues with eComStation and GRUB in the past; they didn't mix well.

So, again, what's the best way to partition the hard drive, verify that it's still good, and in what order do I install the various operating systems?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 215
  • Posts: 3024
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2020, 03:14:40 am »
Does FreeDos need to be on C:? Pretty sure MSDos does. Use ArcaOS's Disk Manager to partition, create 2 primary partitions at the beginning of the hard drive how ever big you plan for the Dos's probably 1-2GB, then an extended partition or more for AOS and perhaps another small one for sharing data.
The first 2 will be C: with only one visible to DOS, you can assign different drive letters to them for AOS and give the other partitions what ever drive letter you choose, perhaps leaving D: for your DVD drive if you have one.
Oh, install Airboot too.
Airboot should allow booting from either C: where you install a DOS as well as booting E: or where ever you install AOS.
So you end up with 2 primaries at the front of the drive for a DOS each, then some extended for AOS or sharing.
AOS can see both primaries if you give them different drive letters and either DOS can't see the other.
I'm assuming FreeDOS installs like most DOSes, on the first visible primary. If FreeDOS is happy installing elsewhere, you can adjust. The important thing is doing all partitioning with AOS.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 573
  • -Receive: 121
  • Posts: 3170
  • Karma: +25/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2020, 04:22:45 am »
Hi Johann, nice to see you around this forum.

I have zero experience with FreeDOS on real hardware, but I have tried some Windows and ArcaOS and eCS dual boot.
I have this articles that may give you some hints of the process:
- Windows 10 ArcaOS Dual Boot
- Installing eComStation 2.1 and Windows 8 with Dual Boot
- Centos 7 ArcaOS Dual Boot
- Installing eComStation 2.2 and Windows 10 with Dual Boot

I even had tried as an experiment to create a VirtualBox VM with ArcaOS and Win98 dual boot. It was successfully for me and it helped me to learn it and test the steps on a VM before trying it no real hardware.

Regards
« Last Edit: December 24, 2020, 04:24:49 am by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2020, 08:42:13 pm »
Ok, when I tried to create a bootable USB stick on my current system, Windows 10, I got a failure.

The full log follows.  Is there anything else I can try, such as running this inside ArcaOS VM?  Should I bring this to the Arca Noae ticket system?

Note, I am running this in an admin window.

Code: [Select]
C:\opt\arcaos>dfsanwin.exe -q run aosboot.dfs 2

Nr   Style    Unix-device  Disk-name/description Disk size           Status
==   ======== ============ ===================== ==================  =========
 1 = MBR disk /dev/sda     SCSI      HGST HTS72  Size:   931.51 GiB
     SCSI      HGST HTS721010A9E630
 2 = MBR disk /dev/sdb     USBSTOR   Kingston D  Size:    57.62 GiB
     USBSTOR   Kingston DataTraveler 3.0

Create bootable ArcaOS USB stick on 59006 MiB disk 2 using image file arcaos-5.0.6-en-usb.imz, destroying
ALL current contents of disk 2? [Y/N] : y

 KBytes restored
 Write error on   512 sector(s) at sector 0x0000000000000000.  Aborting ...▒▒▒▒
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████


Msg: 5     = 0005 : Access denied


Wipe uses the repeated pattern with length 16:
-00000-  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 [................]
Wipe method used  : REAL wipe whole area, buffer   512 sect =  256 KiB

 Sectors Wiped (area)
 ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████

Last wiped sector : 0x0 size 0x00000001 =     0.5 KiB
  0.050 (seconds) :   Disk-sector throughput =    10.04 KiB/sec

Restoring arcaos-5.0.6-en-usb.imz to disk 2 failed! MBR has been cleared to UNLOCK it. Exit this utility, eject
stick, reinsert, then retry the operation.

 Do NOT format the stick if prompted to do so.
Press [Space-bar] to continue ...

C:\opt\arcaos>

Roderick Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2020, 10:04:07 pm »
Hi all,

I came across an old IBM laptop, and I want to try dual booting FreeDOS and ArcaOS; possibly even trpple boot MS-DOS if I can find media that works.  For this particual combo, I have not come across any guides; so links [if existant] will be helpful.

What works: I can boot this machine, and load FreeDOS installation from a USB stick.  I do not have any means to write CD ROM images [don't have disks] nor do I have a CD ROM drive outside the target machine.  If CD ROM is absolutely needed for something, there's a chicken and egg problem.

As I write this, I'm downloading an ArcaOS image I mean to put on a different USB stick.

For dual (or tripple) booting FreeDOS and ArcaOS, what are the steps I need to take, and in what order?  So far, I'm not familiar with Airboot, which I believe is a boot manager that comes with ArcaOS.  I am totally open to different boot managers, as long as they're relatively hassle free.  I remember having issues with eComStation and GRUB in the past; they didn't mix well.

So, again, what's the best way to partition the hard drive, verify that it's still good, and in what order do I install the various operating systems?

If you really want to install FreeDOS and MS-DOS to play with, keep into account that as far as I can remember MS-DOS needs to installed on a primary partition.

You might be better off to just install FreeDOS as this support much larger hard disc then MS-DOS 6.22. As far as I know FreeDOS is 100% compatible with MS-DOS.

Create the partition for any OS with minilvm from ArcaOS.

The key element  is that when you boot MS-DOS or FreeDOS (I am not certain about the last). The primary partitions need to be marked as hidden.
DOS enumarates driver letters based on the first primary that is found. Consult the airboot manual on how to use the Airboot.

Roderick Klein


Roderick Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2020, 10:26:54 pm »
Ok, when I tried to create a bootable USB stick on my current system, Windows 10, I got a failure.

The full log follows.  Is there anything else I can try, such as running this inside ArcaOS VM?  Should I bring this to the Arca Noae ticket system?

Note, I am running this in an admin window.

Code: [Select]
C:\opt\arcaos>dfsanwin.exe -q run aosboot.dfs 2

Nr   Style    Unix-device  Disk-name/description Disk size           Status
==   ======== ============ ===================== ==================  =========
 1 = MBR disk /dev/sda     SCSI      HGST HTS72  Size:   931.51 GiB
     SCSI      HGST HTS721010A9E630
 2 = MBR disk /dev/sdb     USBSTOR   Kingston D  Size:    57.62 GiB
     USBSTOR   Kingston DataTraveler 3.0

Create bootable ArcaOS USB stick on 59006 MiB disk 2 using image file arcaos-5.0.6-en-usb.imz, destroying
ALL current contents of disk 2? [Y/N] : y

 KBytes restored
 Write error on   512 sector(s) at sector 0x0000000000000000.  Aborting ...▒▒▒▒
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████


Msg: 5     = 0005 : Access denied


Wipe uses the repeated pattern with length 16:
-00000-  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 [................]
Wipe method used  : REAL wipe whole area, buffer   512 sect =  256 KiB

 Sectors Wiped (area)
 ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████

Last wiped sector : 0x0 size 0x00000001 =     0.5 KiB
  0.050 (seconds) :   Disk-sector throughput =    10.04 KiB/sec

Restoring arcaos-5.0.6-en-usb.imz to disk 2 failed! MBR has been cleared to UNLOCK it. Exit this utility, eject
stick, reinsert, then retry the operation.

 Do NOT format the stick if prompted to do so.
Press [Space-bar] to continue ...

C:\opt\arcaos>

Did you run this script with Admin rights under Windows ?:

This portion:
KBytes restored
 Write error on   512 sector(s) at sector 0x0000000000000000.  Aborting ...▒▒▒▒

https://www.arcanoae.com/wiki/arcaos/obtaining-arcaos/
"Run the following as Administrator from a command prompt:"

Its not by accident that sector 0 can not be written.

Roderick Klein

Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2020, 12:22:14 am »
Yes, my cmd window is clearly labelled Administrator Command Prompt.

« Last Edit: December 25, 2020, 12:24:49 am by Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson »

Roderick Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2020, 01:02:51 am »
Yes, my cmd window is clearly labelled Administrator Command Prompt.

Then I wonder if your USB stick is not broken or has a write protect tab. Its weird that the first sector can even be written.

Roderick Klein

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 573
  • -Receive: 121
  • Posts: 3170
  • Karma: +25/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2020, 12:15:27 am »
Hi.

Ok, when I tried to create a bootable USB stick on my current system, Windows 10, I got a failure.

The full log follows.  Is there anything else I can try, such as running this inside ArcaOS VM?  Should I bring this to the Arca Noae ticket system?

Note, I am running this in an admin window.

On my experience creating the ArcaOS USB pen drive installer in Windows 10 is that you have to run the procedure to create the stick two times.

The first time will wipe the USB pen drive in some way, it asks you to unplug it and reconnect it. Windows 10 will ask you to format it, don't do it.

Run again the procedure and on the second time it will recreate the USB flash drive correctly.

Are you getting to the second time?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2020, 12:47:52 am »
Third time was the charm for me.

Second time:

Code: [Select]
Create bootable ArcaOS USB stick on 59006 MiB disk 2 using image file arcaos-5.0.6-en-usb.imz,
destroying ALL current contents of disk 2? [Y/N] : y

 KBytes restored
 ████████████████████████████████████████████Write error on   512 sector(s) at sector 0x0000000000005600.  Aborting ...
██████████████████████████████████


Msg: 5     = 0005 : Access denied


Wipe uses the repeated pattern with length 16:
-00000-  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 [................]
Wipe method used  : REAL wipe whole area, buffer   512 sect =  256 KiB

 Sectors Wiped (area)
 ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████

Last wiped sector : 0x0 size 0x00000001 =     0.5 KiB
  0.037 (seconds) :   Disk-sector throughput =    13.48 KiB/sec

Restoring arcaos-5.0.6-en-usb.imz to disk 2 failed! MBR has been cleared to UNLOCK it. Exit this utility,
eject stick, reinsert, then retry the operation.

 Do NOT format the stick if prompted to do so.
Press [Space-bar] to continue ...

Then third time:

Code: [Select]
C:\opt\arcaos>dfsanwin.exe -q run aosboot.dfs 2

Nr   Style    Unix-device  Disk-name/description Disk size           Status
==   ======== ============ ===================== ==================  =========
 1 = MBR disk /dev/sda     SCSI      HGST HTS72  Size:   931.51 GiB
     SCSI      HGST HTS721010A9E630
 2 = MBR disk /dev/sdb     USBSTOR   Kingston D  Size:    57.62 GiB
     USBSTOR   Kingston DataTraveler 3.0

Create bootable ArcaOS USB stick on 59006 MiB disk 2 using image file arcaos-5.0.6-en-usb.imz,
destroying ALL current contents of disk 2? [Y/N] : y

 KBytes restored
 ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████


bootable ArcaOS USB stick install to disk 2 was successful.

Eject stick, reinsert, copy ArcaOS ISO to the ARCA_ISO directory on the stick as 'ARCAINST.ISO' to boot
from it.

Press [Space-bar] to continue ...

I will try if it boots now.

Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #10 on: December 26, 2020, 01:02:34 am »
Ok, it boots into a Workplace Shell window, with the following output.  [I do not know how to make a screenshot of this, and I don't want to take a picture with my phone, for reasons.]

Code: [Select]
[0 | Z:\]MAPISO R: Z:\OS2\EMPTY.ISO
R: => Z:\OS2\EMPTY.ISO

[0 | Z:\]LVM /REDISCOVERPRM
Startup has encountered a FATAL error and con not continue!

Details: "\ARCA_ISO\ARCAINST.ISO" could not be found
             This file should be on the boot disk created by AOSBoot.

Press any key to shut down the system...

What exactly is going on here?  I think I've seen a similar error, and I'll look it up on the Arca Noae tickets, where it didn't load the right CDROM driver by default.  Is that what it is?

How can it get this far and not find the .iso file?

Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #11 on: December 26, 2020, 01:25:53 am »
I find nothing relevant with the search terms "arcainst" nor "iso" in the ArcaOS mantis database.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 573
  • -Receive: 121
  • Posts: 3170
  • Karma: +25/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #12 on: December 26, 2020, 01:30:04 am »
Hi

After producing the USB flash drive with the commands, you need to put the ARCAOS.ISO file into "\ARCA_ISO\" of the USB pen drive and rename that file "ARCAINST.ISO". Did you do that?

If it still do not find the "\ARCA_ISO\ARCAINST.ISO" when the USB pen drive boots, it may some issue with some USB driver.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #13 on: December 26, 2020, 01:51:08 am »
Thanks, that was indeed the problem.  It's been to long and I forgot where I was reading the instructions, and huried off to try and boot.

The installer is chugging along now, and I'll see if i can partition this machine for DOSx2 + OS/2.

Johann 'Myrkraverk' Oskarsson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual (or tripple) booting ArcaOS and FreeDOS?
« Reply #14 on: December 26, 2020, 02:19:32 am »
Ok, so I partitioned the machine in the following way.

Code: [Select]
         2,000 unformatted Primary
         2,000 unformatted Primary
->C:  5,005 unformatted Primary Startable
->F: 29,147 unformatted Logical Advanced/LVM

I hope this will work for a tripple boot system.  I am currently installing ArcaOS right now, in C: and F: as above.  Let's see how that works out.  I can do this as many times as I need.